Hearing Aid Charger cannot initiate charging

by George Mackie
(Vancouver Island)

After getting the hearing aids in November 2012 I have only used them for occasions when I really need them, not all the time.


I recently went away for a few weeks leaving them in the charger with the charger turned off. On return I turned the charger back on, the middle green light came on but the two LEDs on either side of it are flashing red, indicating that the charging process cannot be initiated. I am pretty sure both hearing aids are clean and correctly inserted.

Nothing has been changed since my return and it was working perfectly before I went away and let the batteries go flat.

Is there any way of overcoming this difficulty? The batteries are less than 6 months old and have hardly been used so I would have expected them still to be rechargeable

Comments for Hearing Aid Charger cannot initiate charging

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Sep 11, 2017
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
does not charge, never lasts more than 4 hours NEW
by: Anonymous

I have had these for just over 45 days, (return date) as soon as the return time expired thee aids do not charge...sometimes I can get two lights but then the third lights up but never finishes..8-9 hours charging...never lasts 4 hours..NOT A HAPPY CAMPER..

When you are on vacation and the charger does not work, it is not a nice vacation~!!!!!

Aug 05, 2017
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Hearing Aid Charger blinking red lights NEW
by: Anonymous

I had to get loaner hearing aids while my present ones were being replaced. Last night I put them into the same Smart power charger (Model 3G-04) I always do and in the morning they were flashing red. I was very worried since I needed them for my upcoming speaking engagements, etc. So I went on line and tried cleaning the charger, etc. but to no avail. I then removed the batteries which were brand new and replaced them with 2 pack Power-one, Accu plus, nickel-metal hydride, P312 accu and to my surprise, they are now charging the way they should be, with just green lights flashing. I cannot tell you what a relief it is. The one thing worse would have been if I lost my glasses. :-)

Mar 05, 2017
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Blinking red lights, on charger
by: Anonymous

I recently bought a new set of German rechargeable batteries,($30.00) for my behind the ear hearing aids, as the old ones, were nearly 3 yrs. old, When put in the charger,It blinked green, for a few seconds, and then blinked red , all night. Put old batteries back in, and they charged , fine, NO blinking red. I noticed that the new ones , are metal Hydride, I,m wondering , if the old ones are Nickle cadnium? I.m taking them back to Miracle Ear, next week.

Mar 02, 2017
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Binking Red LED lights
by: Anonymous

Add me to the list. My hearing aids are new and I hadn't used them for several months because I wasn't teaching and didn't need them. Now when I try to charge them I am getting the blinking red lights and have tried everything on the you tube videos to correct problem and nothing is working.

Oct 09, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cannot be the batteries
by: Anonymous

I bought brand new batteries. ACCU plus p312. After first use, the two blinking lights turn red. Then I bought another set of batteries. The same thing happened. So clearly it is not the batteries. So only two possible problems. Either the hearing aids are defected or the charger is defected.

Nov 15, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Why a charger cannot initiate charging
by: Anonymous

Make sure that the contacts in the charger are clean - wad a bit of cloth and rub in the little charger holes and then do the same thing with hearing aids and the batteries too.

One thing to consider is that the batteries have simply died and you need a new set of chargeable batteries. Although the little charger dries the hearing aids during the charging process when that is finished it is simply a closed box.

Two things can happen I believe: it can be very humid in there and the tiny parts can corrode and possibly the aid was not really off and as time passed then again the batteries died.

I would advise against using the charger for long term charging.

Oct 16, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
first thing to do
by: Anonymous

i think that changing the batteries is the fist thing to do in this case and you must make sure that the hearing aid is clean .

Jan 26, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
two blinking red lights
by: Anonymous

My charger is doing the same thing and I still haven't figured it out

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Costco Hearing Aids Reviews.