HEARING AIDS DON'T BUY UNLESS YOU CAN AFFORD NEW ONES EVERY 5 YEARS.

by Ann Cox
(Orem, Utah USA)

Do not buy hearing aids from Costco unless you can afford to replace them every five years. That's their policy ... they will not fix any hearing aid that is 5 years old or older.


They expect you to be grateful and purchase more them them. They do not stand behind them. Costco is not being ethical for not fixing them and stand behind their products. If you bought a car, you expect the manufacturing to make parts for it beyond 5 years. The same should be hearing aids.

Comments for HEARING AIDS DON'T BUY UNLESS YOU CAN AFFORD NEW ONES EVERY 5 YEARS.

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jan 23, 2017
Rating
star
Unhappy customer
by: George Pryor

I never heard or read this posted comment when I bought these Kirkland hearing aids in 2013...I would never had bought them!!!No repair parts after 4 years..What a way to treat and scam the public...BUYER BEWARE AT COSTCO

Oct 12, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Can you hear me now?
by: Anonymous

I bought my over the ear aid at Costco about two and a half years ago. I am very happy with it. (Rexton) I only have a left one because a right one would not help me.

I can hear slightly in it but everything is garbled if someone speaks close in my ear. Initial adjustments had to be made the first few months. But none since. I have trouble hearing still only because the sound has to go around to the left ear. Even using the noise program in loud places doesn't really help me to hear better. But that is on me, not the aid itself.

My previous in the canal aids needed repair every 6 months. (shipped out for a week at $150). There was no pressure from Costco to purchase an aid for the right ear. She agreed it probably wouldn't benefit me to even try one. Without an aid I can't hear an alarm clock go off. Or hear it while it is beeping.

My previous place of purchase wanted $5000 and insisted I needed both. I bought the one for $1299 because of profound loss of hearing.

Sep 11, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Ann Cox Is Wrong
by: AHW, Physician

I am not affiliated with Costco in any way. I find deplorable that an uninformed reader (Ann Cox) should make generalized, unsupported statements about Costco in general, and refer to that Company as, well, being unethical. Costco provides services, such as Hearing Aids, at prices that many otherwise could not afford. Her "facts" about Costco not willing to provide support/repairs for hearing aids beyond 5 years is, as stated by others, essentially the norm in the hearing aid industry.

Jun 22, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstar
Unrealistic Expectations
by: Elle

These days, hearing aids are very technical objects..like your computer, phone or iPad...an expectation that Costco should be required to repair longer than 5 years is just as unrealistic as my expecting that my 5 year old iPad should be able to run new programs available for newer iPads.

Highly technical objects (including hearing aids) advance quickly. If you had a 75 chevy would you take it to a new chevy dealer for repair? Most likely not..you'd take it to someone who knows how to repair older, non computerized cars.

Really, 5 years is an excellent length of time for any technical item to be repaired. I'm hoping that, in the 3 years I have left, newer models of hearing aids will be available.

Also, we all go to Costco for their lower price. If you are going to insist that your aids be repaired for a longer period, then you might do better with a smaller, more customer orientated audiologist. Their prices are higher but they might be able to offer you the type of customer service you (unrealistically) expect from Big Box Costco.

And finally as an FYI..I'm not in any way involved in Costco-I'm simply an elder who knows what to expect when shopping at a Big Box store. I purchased my aids at my local Costco after going to 3 small independent stores; 1 for testing-he sent me to a doctor for specific hearing testing, at Miracle Ear, where the aid I liked cost $8000.00!! And it was more cumbersome than the new aid I ended up getting at Costco and finally at a very small hearing aid shop that had been in business for 40 years in the same place..his prices were mid way between the $1500. for Costco and the $8K at Miracle Ear.

Jun 09, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar

by: Ron Allander NBC-HIS

Winnie,

You said that you need a hearing aid for both ears. One ear is "bad" and the other ear is "good". Assuming that the one ear is much better than the other but both could benefit from amplification.

Obviously, your best solution is to get help for both ears so that you have binaural hearing. This would help you with hearing in noise much better, localization of sound, and would be able to understand speech at a lower level.

That being said, I would ask the audiologist if he/she thinks that you would do better amplifying the better ear. Generally speaking I would amplify the better ear if both ears have "significant" loss. If the loss is only mild in the better ear, then I would fit the "bad" ear with an aid.

With one aid, your goal is to achieve better overall hearing. Also, I would ask them about the results of the Word Discrimination test.

This may help in determining which ear to fit as well. For example, if the Word Discrimination score for the Right ear is 90% and the Left ear is 70%, I would fit the Right ear because your ability to understand speech in the Right ear is significantly better than the left.

I hope this helps.

Ron Allander

Jun 08, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
YOUR COMMENT PLEASE
by: WINNIE LEWIS

I WILL BE PURCHASING (ONE) HEARING AID FOR EAR THE GOOD :EAR IS IN NEED OF AID AS WELL BUT THE "BAD": EAR IS THE ONE I AM GOING TO GET FOR I HAVE APPT ON FRIDAY WHAT DO YOU SUGGEST IMPORTANT QUESTING TO ASK YOU AUDIOLOGIST THE NOT BE SLAMMED UNNECESSARILY

May 31, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar

by: Ron Allander NBC-HIS

PhilattheBeach,

That is fairly typical of most hearing aid manufacturers. When hearing aids reach the age of eight years old the manufacturer will render the hearing instrument obsolete and will no longer repair it.

However, Starkey has an "All-Make" repair lab and will repair almost any hearing aid no matter the age. If you are still happy overall with your aid and it needs repair, I would suggest finding a dispenser that works with Starkey.

Ron

May 29, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Not just Costco
by: PhilattheBeach

I have been wearing Widex hearing aids for over 6 years, and have had no problems, but when I purchased them, the local audiologist also said that the lifespan is approx. 5 years, and generally, repairs are not available after that time. They have mentioned that again lately as mine get older, but so far, they work great.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Costco Hearing Aids Reviews.