Incompetent Technician at Costco

by Don Clement
(Strongsville, OH)

My Kirkland Hearing Aids are great and were a real bargain at $2,000. However, I have had some problems.


The plastic on the wire leading to the speaker has broken three times now on one or the other hearing aid. I live about an hour from the nearest Costco so each time I have to return to the store for hearing aid service it's a major trip.

I have had to return to the store numerous times, five or more, due to problems with the devices. I've been told to return to the store at a specific day and time only to find out that for one reason or another I would have to come back, i. e. the part isn't in yet. The technician who initially tested my hearing and fit me for the hearing aids, Ted?, didn't seem to know what he was doing.

He gave me incorrect information on more than one occasion and failed to properly instruct me on how to insert the hearing aids.

I think Costco should assign him to other duties that fit his abilities. Justin, the other technician seems very knowledgeable and professional. I have no complaints about him.

Now, my right hearing aid isn't producing any sound, or at a very weak volume. I drove to the store last Saturday only to find that the hearing aid department isn't open on Saturdays. Three hours of driving and gasoline use were wasted, not to mention my time.

Comments for Incompetent Technician at Costco

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

May 16, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Agree!
by: SheilaVR

I have had the same experience but they tell me I'm the only one! I'm at the end of my rope!

Sep 16, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Costco hearing aids
by: Ken H

I changed from the Siemens Costco hearing aids last Oct (2013) when the new aids came out. These new aids are of a much higher quality than the old ones. They are made by re-sound I believe and work perfectly with my bluetooth TV module and my cell phone.

Sep 16, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
See Who??? An Audiologist or Hearing Aid Technician?
by: Remag

How does a person know who is a GOOD or BAD audiologist?? Your advice is correct but, It's Trial & Error which is time consuming and costly.
People are buying "a pig in a poke", they follow the advice given and that person is making a commission or as an owner lots of money.

My particular aids were $2100 [2] at Costco, yet others were charging up to $6000 for the exact same model. Diogenes would not find the Perfect Audiologist because they are like "Hens Teeth". My apologies to the Very Few Audiologists wherever you are.

Sep 16, 2014
Rating
starstarstar
Programming Hearing Aids
by: Audiologist

I work with Siemens hearing aids every day. The problem with the volume control running loud and microphone, amplifier, etc. When you work with an experienced audiologist and not a technician, that individual will know how to program the hearing aid so it does not have drastic volume control changes.

See an audiologist to get the best fit and service.

Aug 02, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Got to Agree
by: Don Clement

I have to agree with you. I have learned a lot since purchasing the hearing aids. The wires kept breaking because I was trying to put them in wrong.

However, nobody showed me how to do it properly until about a year after getting them. The person in charge of the hearing aid department, Justin, is congenial, knowledgeable and helpful, unlike the man who I worked with initially, who I still think should be transferred out of the hearing aid dept. Justin taught me what I was doing wrong and showed me the right way. Yes, I should have called ahead.

Aug 02, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
You may be the problem.
by: Remag

I think you may be one of the problems. The hearing aid department has a sign with the hours and clearing states NO Sat or Sun hours, CLOSED.

There are techs that are better than others and it's possible there is a communication problem between the two of you. As to the wire breaking: I have my aids 3.75 years and the wire has never broken. The hearing aids were repaired several times FREE under the warranty. The last repair I paid for [out of warranty] and both were only $270/$135 each with a 12 month warranty.

It's hard to ask for better than that. When my aids were ready I received a phone call to pick them up. With all due respect, I believe you sir are the problem. I suggest you try other hearing aid providers, and I guarantee that you run back to Costco.

Nov 02, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Call first
by: Anonymous

Did you ever hear the saying "let your fingers do the walking"? Why wouldn't you call ahead to make sure the part was in before driving 1 hour?

Oct 25, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Costco Kirkland hearing aid adventures
by: Ken H

I purchased a set of Costco Kirkland hearing aids 15 months ago and had similar problems. The volume dropping to near zero in one or the other hearing aids.

I have been back seven times to have the ear speakers replaced and once to have one hearing aid repaired.

I have no complaints about the service as June Young at the Nanaimo, BC store has been extremely apologetic each time I have been in. On my last visit it was decided to refund my money and I am getting a new pair of the newly released Kirkland signature hearing aids that are from a different manufacturer.

It would appear that the wires in the ear piece of these units is of poor quality or the engineering is defective. This from a company such as Siemens is unacceptable.

Jun 25, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Call for an appointment.
by: Anonymous

It's always best to call for an appointment and to ask for the person you are most comfortable with. Also, ask for instructions on keeping them clean and possibly changing the tips for best performance. Again, ask for the person you want there.

May 21, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Appointment
by: Anonymous

Yes it is and I usually do.

May 21, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Costco Service Complaint
by: Anonymous

In our area we call and make an appointment for the help with problems. Is that a possibility for you?

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Costco Hearing Aids Reviews.