ReSound Future problem

by Pat
(Milton, WA)

I've had these hearing aids for a couple of months. On the first followup visit I explained that on one or two occasions my hearing aid (one or the other) seemed to transfer a single tone or note from it's source directly into one or the other of my hearing aids, and at high amplification. It was the first the dispenser had heard of such a problem and had no answer for it. It has occurred many times since, especially while watching HDTV. It happens when, for instance, a musical instrument is being played. In one striking case, a movie scene in which a person rang a buzzer to gain access to an apartment complex, the instant he put his finger on the buzzer the sound emanated loudly from my hearing aid! It didn't seem to come from the TV speakers at all. A hearing aid blogger has said the is a problem called "entrainment," which current hearing aid technology has supposedly resolved. I will bring this up with the Costco dispenser on my next visit.

Comments for ReSound Future problem

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Nov 28, 2012
New ReSound Alera Hearing Aids
by: Anonymous

I just picked up my ReSound Alera hearing aids yesterday. Bud is the HIS who worked with me.

With more than 20 years experience I felt very comfortable with him. I have worn Phonaks for the last 6 years and when I saw my audiologist she recommended we switch to Starkey with the new wireless technology.

She wanted $6600 for both. I found a place on line that sold them for 1/2 price but I would need to see my audiologist for any follow-ups and she refused saying she would lose her license if she treated me.

A new Costco opened in our area and we had a rep come to our company. He explained that they had a hearing aid department so I decided to check it out.

Bud was awesome, spent a great deal of time with me and explained everything he was doing. He went into so much more detail than the audiologist. I have been wearing the new aids for about a day and there will probably be some changes we have to make when I see him next week.

If everything goes as it has in the past I anticipate no problems. By the way the new wireless aids cost just under $2700. A far cry from the $6600 for the Starkey's.

Mar 08, 2012
Resound Future Problem
by: Pat

@ Anonymous: I've worn hearing aids for many years. My current 5-year-old pair are Phonak Savia aids. I've returned the Resound Future aids after an extended trial/adjustment period. The final straw for me was a movie in which the background music was apparently played on a single instrument ... a flute I believe. It drove the ReSound aids bonkers. I took them out, put in my Phonaks and replayed the movie. No problem. Bottom line: At more than twice the price, I've bought, but have yet to receive, Phonak Naida S IX receiver-in-the ear aids. Unlike the ReSound aids, these are binaural ... a feature which, I've read, most hearing aid manufacturers employ to resolve the entrainment issue (of course that's not binaurals only function).

Mar 08, 2012
Costco and Future
by: Anonymous

First of all, Costco hires audiologists and hearing aid dispensers for their Hearing Aid Centers. The ReSound Future is most similiar to the Alera 9. The Alera 9 can retail for $3000 each and the Future is $1299.99 each at Costco with a 3 year warranty for repair and a 2 year loss/damage policy. Costco also has a 90 day trial period, with a full refund should you decide not to keep your devices. The entrainment issues can happen with a lot of hearing aids, especially with the sound causing the response has a very pure tone quality to it (flute, violin, etc). Typically further adjustment to the high frequency can reduce the occurrence of this.

Feb 18, 2012
ReSound Future v Alera
by: Edward J Krakiwsky

I am looking to buy a Costco ReSound Future, but see that there is a Resound Alera. Is the Future old technology relative to the Alera?

Feb 18, 2012
ReSound Future v Alera
by: Edward J Krakiwsky

I am looking to buy a Costco ReSound Future, but see that there is a Resound Alera. Is the Future old technology relative to the Alera?

Feb 18, 2012
ReSound Future Problem
by: Pat

Sherry ... I should have explained, too, that the ReSound Future is not the same as the Alera 7 that you mentioned. The Future appears to have all the same features as the Alera 9 with only one exception: The Alera 9 (and Alera 7) has 17 Warp bands while the Future has only 12. The Alera 7 has fewer features, overall, than the Future.

Feb 18, 2012
ReSound Future Problem
by: Pat

Sherry ... A few details: Learned that the problem is called "entrainment," a term the Costco "Hearing Instrument Specialist" (Costco doesn't employ audiologists) had never heard before, even though he was trained by an audiologist. When I explained the condition, though, he made adjustments to high frequency settings to correct for it. I also asked for a boost in volume on my "Music" program (#3)", which I sometimes use when watching TV with my wife (I tend to set volume too high for her). Bottom line: The problem seemed to be reduced, but not eliminated. On this site, turning off the feedback feature was suggested as a solution, but that produced immediate feedback. Instead, it was reset to it's lowest value (on program #3) which worked for feedback; but while watching a Netflix movie in which the violin was played, there were a couple of occurrences of entrainment. Arranged to meet with HA specialist the next morning. However, being concerned I might not have sufficient trial time left to evaluate any new settings, I decided to use a CD of violin music to test the aids before our meeting and then again immediately after. But in playing a few minutes of several tracks of the CD via the TV's BlueRay player, I heard no entrainment. I then unsealed the Netflix movie, fast forwarded to the violin segments, played them again, and, this time, no problem! The specialist decided not to make any changes for now. That was a couple of days ago. Have had a couple of occurrences since then (on program #3), but I otherwise like these aids and will wait a while to see if it annoys me to the point of requesting further adjustments. The specialist assured me he wouldn't hold me to the initial trial period. Note: Since those initial adjustment were made, I don't recall having had an entrainment issue except when watching TV. I wouldn't let my experience deter you from trying them.

Feb 18, 2012
resound Alera 7
by: sherry Thompson

did you purchase the Resound Alera 7 at Costco?
I just got a quote at the Dr. office of $4750, and want to shop for the best price.
We also have HDTV. It it still a problem for you?

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Costco Hearing Aids Reviews.