Review of Costco Kirkland Signature Hearing Aids

by Jon Quinn
(Green Valley, AZ)

I had been struggling with moderate hearing loss for quite some time. Had an audiologist test me about 5 years ago and then again in December 2011. I was amazed at how much my hearing had deteriorated. Met with the audiologist and she seemed only interested in selling me a pair for $5,000. But, she made the mistake of mentioning batteries from Costco. I decided to go online and do some research and it seemed most of the comments were favorable.


So, off to Costco I went. Bottom line, I'm very pleased with the hearing aids (so is my wallet) and so is my wife.

I picked them up on January 3rd and took off for a 10 day cruise - took some getting used to, but they worked!

I've been back to Costco two more times for consultation and minor adjustments. They just continue to amaze me. Added features / benefits:

Rechargeable batteries that come with their own charger / dryer for overnight charging. Unlimited adjustments as I continue to wear them.

They even give you the cleaner / detergent at no charge - not just the first bottle, but as long as you own the devices.
Deep cleaning is recommended every 4-6 months - no appointment, just drop them off while shopping. And, no charge! My friends tell me they pay $150 for this.

They even have a loss/damage guarantee - something like 2 years for each hearing aid.
And, if you don't doubt them, they have a 90 day 100% money back guarantee.

I believe the audiologist told me they sell something like 3.4 million pairs per year.

I'm a very satisfied customer!

Comments for Review of Costco Kirkland Signature Hearing Aids

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Nov 28, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Open vs custom ear molds NEW
by: Wenny

I'm severely hard of hearing and must use custom ear molds

I feel the open fit ear molds are useless
With Costco only charging around $30 per mold vs other hearing aid suppliers charging up to $100 each

If you have open fit ear molds, just put your finger over your ear mold and you can notice way improved hearing quality

They should stop pushing open fit molds

Nov 28, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Costco KS7 new user experience NEW
by: Anonymous

Hello all, I'm a new user in hearing aids and have brought a pair of the Costco KS7, the sound/voices coming out are weak and have a cracking noise very noticeable when set at high volume output. The technician suggested I should try them on as programmed, give the chance for my sensory to adapt. My set has the open domes, I found out that if I seal up my ear canal all sounds greatly improved, results in gained volume, better low frequency and no cracking noise. Now I wonder if anyone tested at Costco ever came across the fitting selection of open vs close domes issue?

Nov 03, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Kirland Iphone compatible hearing aids NEW
by: Roxanne Reindl

Absolutely love my new Kirkland Iphone compatible hearing aids. My old pair were 2005 & 2007 CIC Rexton (I take careful care of my hearing aids). The 2005 finally gave up after 11 years so I had to get new ones. The technology has advanced so much in the last 9 years. I can actually tell what direction sound is coming from for the 1st time in 25 years.

Nov 01, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Battery in right ear lasts only one day NEW
by: Anonymous

I have the invisible-in-the ear model from Costco, and after a year I had to send both aids back for repairs. The left ear aid developed a hole in the side of the plastic, and the right ear aid began to drain a battery in just 24 hours. Both were repaired in July, 2016. Now the right ear aid is back to draining a battery in 24 hours again. I will send it back to the factory for the second time to get this problem fixed. I hope they don't charge me for this repair, as there is obviously some defect.

Oct 23, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Best aids and great service NEW
by: Wenny

Severe hearing loss, been wearing aids for over 48 years
These are the best aids I've ever had and the service at Costco Myrtle Beach Is superb
With only 6 manufacturers making aids for many brand names
In the world you can't go wrong with these if you have an IPhone
If I went to a hearing aid dispenser, I would have paid Thousands more, less warranty, shorter trial period
And never get the great service from Costco


Oct 16, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
1st from Costco NEW
by: Hoping There Better

I just order my first pair of hearing aids from Costco with the rechargeable batteries. I cannot comment on them yet, but I will after I wear them. My previous hearing aids were the top of the line from Siemens costing me thousands of dollars more than the Reston 7.0, which is the Kirkland brand. From day one of receiving my Siemens hearing aids I had nothing but trouble, the receiver wires on them have been replaced numerous times on each one. Where the facility were I got them wants me to start paying $100 a wire. It was sent back to the manufacturer twice. Again, will on vacation my hearing aids stopped working. This was something I have gotten use too over the past several years. I was not going to go back to the place I purchased them and pay $100 a wire, so I decided to try Costco's hearing aid center. My new earring aids are ordered and the audiologist took a look at my old hearing aids and, of course, it was the receiver wire. He replace the wire for me on one, and the other one could not be repaired. He did not even charge me for the wire. I am confident that I will receive excellent service from Costco. Will write how I like the hearing aids after I get them.

Oct 13, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Kirkland batteries NEW
by: Anonymous

The new version of packaging is majorly flawed. The circular dial is attached too strongly. When starting to turn the dial the whole thing breaks & the batteries come spilling out.

Oct 05, 2016
Rating
starstarstar
Work ok, but not great NEW
by: Anonymous

My father has had Kirkland for a few years. He is about 75% deaf. Costco did the hearing test and sold him the hearing aids. He has had to have the volume pegged almost from the beginning. When brought up to the Costco rep, they said there was nothing they could do. He lost the remote and they are now telling us they cannot get another one. Only certain models from 6.0 to 4.0 have remotes available. These are a few years old, but I would be furious if I bought a set of hearing aids last year and could not get a replacement remote.
Unfortunately, you cannot go anywhere or call the manufacturer. It is call Costco or nothing, and if they won't help, you are screwed.

Sep 15, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Kirkland Signature 7 (Rexton) is now available
by: Anonymous

Yesterday 9/14/2016 I had my hearing tested at Costco and was able to go home with a pair of the new just released KS 7 for $1699. I had been using Costco's model from 2011, but with my tough use, both had recently died and were outside the repairable period. The new ones support up to 6 programs and are working great. It's so good to hear well again! At the base price, they use standard 312 batteries. A free smart phone app called Connexx Smart remote provides configuration of volume, program, bass/treble directly from the phone. In some cases, microphone direction also may be available, but isn't for me. Rechargeable batteries and charger are available for ~$85. A device that loops around the neck is needed for hands-free Bluetooth use, but I didn't get a price for that. I'm very satisfied so far.

Sep 07, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
costco would not sell me Kirkland
by: Anonymous

I tried to buy Kirkland at Costco
She sold me the Brenafon instead
She said my moderate to severe hearing loss was not suitable for the Kirkland because "there was no room to adjust it up for me???

I feel I have been mislead.

Aug 13, 2016
Rating
star
Will not Pair with iPhone
by: David

App stopped working. It will not pair with iPhone 6. There's nothing on net to fix the problem. Costco to busy to help for a week.. so frustrated with hearing aids and software I could scream.

Aug 08, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Rexton Hearing aids.
by: Nebraska

I first went to My local hearing Dr. She tested my ears and was gonna charge me 150.00 for the test. She would then no charge me if I bought the aids from from her. The cost of her aids were $7000.00 not rechargeable not sure what could be adjusted.

I went to Costco and had a free test which was better more complete test than my local DR. Got fitted and picked them up 8/6/16. The total cost was $2900.00. for 2. They have a rechargeable battery and you can program the environment 4 different settings.

The Volume is also easy to adjust. I just love em took Grandkids fishing this weekend and maybe said what 4 times. We stopped to pick up pizza and it was a noisy pizza place and I could hear every word any one said. Use your Citi Visa card get 2 additional yrs warranty and 2% additional cash back!

Aug 04, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Bad Design and Batteries
by: Ron

Bought a set of Kirkland brand from Costco several months ago for less than half the price of my previous Bernafons.

The new ones perform the same as the old ones since aids only amplify sound. The many frequency bands and ability to filter out background sound, etc., are all useless gimmicks.

The Costco aids use twice as many batteries because the little swinging door is in the wrong place, so when placed in a pouch, purse or pocket, the door closes and uses battery power when they aren't in the ears.

I was getting 6-7 days from batteries since I use my aids only 50% of the time and never all night. Now I get 3-4 days. Because the little doors close too easily, my aids often buzz in my pocket pouch, which I can't hear but others around me complain. VERY irritating! Overall, I like the aids and the 50% less price was worth the irritation.

Kirkland brand batteries now come in a flawed circular container. The container allows all the batteries to slip out around the edge of the circular cover, so all the batteries end up loose in my pocket. Irritating!

Aug 01, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
ReSound Hearing Aids
by: VietVet

Costco Hearing Center I use is great. I have had my ReSound Aids over 5 years. Free cleaning and adjustments. Free perodic hearing tests and adjustments to my hearing profile in the Aids.

ReSound makes the Kirkland Hearing Aids, and most people that I know who use them say they are great. I would trust Costco Hearing Center. They will recommend the hearing aid that fits your hearing loss. It is up to you as the user to decide if that is what you want to wear.

Jul 30, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Just for your own Information ...
by: Anonymous

After receiving my new Kirkland Premium 6.0 about a month ago , I definitely have more control and can hear better in more situations. Just to let others know, it is possible to control thease AIDS with an Apple Watch, the app is called "Tuner" by Resound

Jul 24, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Very Pleased Hearing Aid wearer!!!
by: Colleen

I Love my Hearing Aids from Costco!! I have been having issues with my hearing for a while and went through all kinds of Tests including MRI and CT Scans.

I went to Costco and had a wonderful Lady do a extensive hearing test on me, which I found to be better then the Doctors did for me!! I received my hearing Aids in a week and I just Love them!! I can control them through my iPhone and was told how to take care of the Hearing Aids, and I Just had a 3 month cleaning on them for free. Cant beat the deal. Great People to take care of you too!!!

Jul 23, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Batteries
by: Carol

I normally get 4 days minimum on my hearing aid batteries. And I wear them at least 12 to 14 hours a day. I take out my batteries when I go to bed or take a nap and just open up the compartment.

Jul 22, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Android
by: Anonymous

Will the Kirkland Signature 6.0 work with Android phones?

Jul 19, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
employer?
by: Anonymous

Does this person work for Costco?

Jul 12, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Does this work with an Apple iPOD
by: Anonymous

I have not graduated to an iPhone because a TracFone meets my minimal telephonic communication needs with technology to spare. I have found that the iPOD is essentially a basic iPhone....without phone capabilities but with bluetooth and wi-fi. Has anyone tried these aids with an iPod? via BlueTooth?

Thanks.

Jun 20, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Battery care
by: Anonymous

I have moderate hearing loss and bought my first hearing aids from Costco. The whole experience has been entirely satisfactory. I notice complaints about battery life, but my experience has been quite good.

I wear my aids about 16-18 hours a day, but when I remove them to shower,etc,I make sure to disengage the batteries. Overnight,I remove the batteries and place the flat side on a piece of clear tape,(an online tip), and am getting 5-7 days use.

Jun 11, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Update on Kirkland aids
by: Don

Had commented upon purchase of Kirkland aids at Costco. I've now had them a few weeks, and the difference between these, and my previous aids, (which were over $3,000 five years ago) is amazing.

I never really used the expensive ones, as they made my ears hurt and itch, and didn't help me hear much better. The hearing center who sold them to me was virtually useless as well. A world of difference with Costco.

They provided ear drop oil to help my ears, and have fine tuned the aids for me. The aids also allow me to control them with my iPhone, which is an enormous difference.

Phone calls are transmitted directly to the aids if I choose, enabling me to clearly hear the caller. TV is now enjoyable, as I can hear the dialogue without blowing my wife out of the room with the TV volume!

I wear these most of the time, and am extremely happy with them. Plus, with the super warranty and 6 month return policy, you simply can't lose! Get these, you won't regret it.

Jun 10, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Hearing Aids at Costco
by: Bob O'C

After a little more than 4 years, the Unitron Moxi Latitude for my left ear died. The right ear was fine, but most of my hearing loss is in my left ear.

I went to the "hearing center" where I bought them and was told that it couldn't be repaired.

I asked the price of a new set and was told it would cost a little over $6,000. I shopped the internet and discovered Costco's Kirkland Hearing Aids with the advertised price of $1,799.

Needless to say, me and the wife went to Costco and a few hours later (after a very professional hearing test) we left with my new set of Kirkland hearing aids.

They're working fine, I'm hearing very well, I can adjust (or mute) them with my IPhone, I saved $4,200 and I can return them within 90 days for a full refund (but I'm NOT going to do that). There was no 90 days to return the old pair when I bought them!

May 31, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Value
by: Ed W

I have been wearing hearing aids now since the 1980's and have tried or owned virtually every brand. My Audiologist at a expensive hearing aid clinic mentioned that Costco sold top quality hearing aids for half their price.

When I went to upgrade 6 months later, there he was, working at Costco dispensing hearing aids. We both use powerful aids, and usually the same model, so he knew what would work for me. I'm still using those aids 4 years later, and yesterday, Costco replaced the in the ear receiver for me at no cost. My backup hearing aid was a Phonak, it had feedback issues that were never resolved, but I have never had a issue with my Costco Resound aids. My new puppy ate one (chewed to tiny bits). I swept up the bits and took them to Costco, and received a new replacement with no argument, since it was within the warranty.

Now, it looks like I'll be needing a cochlear implant, but would get the Kirkland Signature aid if I needed a upgrade.

Some people complain when competition threatens their business, they feel that they have a right to profits and do not have to earn their business. The great thing about a free country like the US is that you can compete by offering lower prices or better products or service, or all of the above, and succeed. Its always sour grapes for the losers.

May 18, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Comments on using Costco
by: don

I've had aids by another brand, purchased through a local hearing aid retailer. Bought them 5 years ago, at about $3,000+ per pair. Have never been happy with them, especially the lack of control to adjust them, and the provider has been pretty useless at helping.

After a lot of research, I bought a set of the Kirkland $1,799.00 aids yesterday. While I don't yet have them (had to be ordered, arrive in a week), I found the specialist to be extremely professional and knowledgeable, and the test was far more comprehensive than the one at the retail dealer. I was quite impressed. And how about this for a novel concept- no commissions! So they have no reason to steer you one way or another.

I'll update this review after receiving the aids, but based on professionalism and knowledge, the specialists at the St. Peters Costco really impressed me.

Apr 23, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Excellent and pairs with Iphone
by: James Burwash

I am very satisfied with the service and Kirkland product, (Resound). Most hearing aids are the same, but a big cost difference at Costco. I have been wearing aids for 50 years and always went to a hearing clinic. So I was very nervous to go to Costco, However, I was extremely satisfied with the attention to detail and service by Hailey in Vancouver.
Comment on Pairing IPhone and IPAD. I have been struggling for years to hear on cell phones, I purchased the clip 5 years ago (useless) Anyway 100 percent satisfied with pairing of the hearing aids to my IPHONE. Words cannot explain my happiness. The IPAD works very well, but it does not stay connected like the IPHONE. There are no add-ins just connect. Unbelievable technology.

Apr 20, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstar
Worth it to me
by: Doris

I have had a pair of Kirkland 6.0 hearing aids for about a year. Previously I had a pair of expensive ($4,000) which were satisfactory but a little old, so Costco Kirkland for replacement was recommended by a relative.

I was not interested in the Blue Tooth connections which I believe is a new feature of the latest 6.0 model. But what I am excited about is the TV Unit, which is an extra $200+ cost but for me well worth it. I am retired and partially disabled so I watch a lot of TV and television movies.

The joy of being able to press the button on the aids and be connected to the small TV Unit that sits on my TV set -- and actually HEAR every word being said as the voices come directly into my ear.

Okay, the inconvenience here is that this unit virtually eats batteries which I need to change every couple of days, according to the amount of TV use. Yes, this is a nuisance, but as others have said, the batteries are very inexpensive and the five extra minutes, approximately, that it takes to change the batteries is worth the trouble for the ease and enjoyment I get from the system. And yes, you will need to be a member of Costco to buy Kirkland aids.

I'm writing this aimed particularly to people in my mostly stay-at-home lifestyle, as you will probably find the Kirkland and their TV Unit worth the time and trouble.

Apr 09, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
My 2 cents worth on the KS 6.0 Hearing Aids
by: Richard

A couple of months ago, I finally broke down and got a hearing aid from Costco, the KS6.0 The hearing test, as I suspected would happen, indicated that my right ear was not great, but passable, and the left ear had significant hearing loss. After talking to the audi, we decided to try fitting one hearing aid. So far that has worked well. I work in a very, very, confusing, noisy retail environment, and while the noise is still distracting, I am now far more confident in my ability to correctly hear phone numbers, and to differentiate between similar sounding words.

This week I attended a 2 day workshop with about 60 other attendees, and even though the presenters wore no microphones, I had no issues hearing anything spoken by presenters, and questions and comments from the attendees were clear as glass. In fact, at first I thought the presenters were wearing microphones because I could hear everything so easily.

I have read some complaints about the KS 6.0's, and for my money, they are unfounded. I have seen complaints that they sound "tinny". Well, they are going to sound a little "tinny" because they are amplifying frequencies that the wearer hasn't been hearing, and chances are those frequencies are in the mid-to upper range of hearing, the "tinny" sounding frequencies.

I have read complaints about the batteries and battery life. Granted, I am not using my hearing aid to stream, but I am consistantly getting 4 to 5 days of use (40-55 hours)from an 18 cent battery. On what planet is that not great performance?

Others have reported inconsistant performance. I too had some of that initially, but as I became accustomed to wearing a hearing aid, the audi turned up the power to a more normal level, and those problems have vanished.

After 2 months experience with the hearing aid, I am learning how to identify where sounds are coming from again. Before, everything sounded like it was coming from over my right shoulder!

My entire experience has been an unqualified success. I was very pleased with the initial test and consequent fitting, and both of my followup visits have been extremely satisfying. I find myself being a Costco hearing evangalist. Yes, wearing a hearing aid can be a bit embarassing at first, but few people even notice that it is in place, and it is far more embarassing having to ask people to repeat themselves numerous times, or worse, unknowingly misunderstanding what someone said. Once I understood a friend's son to say that his sister recently got a good job. Unfortunately, he actually said his sister got a boob job. Imagine the embarassment when I congratulated her on her great new job!

At least she still speaks to me.

Mar 01, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstar
Excellent for the price
by: OlyJohn

I'm on my fourth set of hearing aids. I've had problems losing them, washing them, etc. so this time I went with inexpensive, the is, Kirkland.

Are they as good as the Phonak Audeo V that I used to have? Well, yes and no.

The Bad:

The sound quality isn't as good, especially the bass. The sound isn't as "natural." If I was a musician or listened to a lot of (especially sophisticated) music, I'm sure they would drive me nuts.

There is no volume control on the hearing aid, and no separate control you can buy (I think). Your only control is by smart phone. This is much more hassle than it would seem. It's hard to react quickly when you have to a) unlock the smart phone, b) find the application, c) find the screen you want within the application, and finally d) make the adjustment.

Similarly, the Bluetooth is only one direction, from the phone to the hearing aid. In my own case that's kind of a hassle, because I listen to a lot of talking books. So, I'm in the middle of "Dick and Jane at the Farm," and someone wants to speak with me. I can't pause the story from the hearing aid. I have to go through a process similar to above to pause the story.

The control thing is the biggest problem with them. It destroys any illusion of them being unobtrusive. I would love it if Kirkland produced an aid for a few hundred more that was more flexible.

On the other hand, the Bluetooth connection is actually better than my Phonaks. I can be quite a ways from my phone and still hear my talking books (my personal addiction) perfectly. Also, using them to talk on the phone is better than my Phonaks ever were.

And, the sound quality is perfectly fine for conversation, hearing in a car or restaurant, etc.
But of course the biggest plus is the price / performance. Yes there are some problems, but they're workable. The quality of hearing (the point, you know) is fine. And the lack of features compared with my old aids? Well, at a pair for less that the cost of one of the Phonaks, there are far fewer compromises than you would expect.

All in all, you'll note 4 stars. They are by far the best value on the market. If you can afford the Lamborgini, then by all means buy the Lamborgini. For the rest of us, the Chevy will definitely get us from Point A to B quite nicely.

As a side note, when I got my last Phonaks I got the remote control and some other accessory that escapes me right now. If you're anything like me, don't bother. I found them more hassle than they were worth.

Feb 20, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Batteries
by: Anonymous

I've made a couple posts about my satisfaction so won't shill further... but I've seen at a minimum twice people complaining about batteries...first of all you should get at least 4 days out of a set..and I personally change them both at once....longer if you use Duracell but they cost a little more, secondly they are so cheap at Costco who cares if you use a few, and finally... turn them off when you aren't using them.

Feb 20, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Who cares?
by: Anonymous

So what if COSTCO forces over priced vendors to cut prices or go out of business? That is what competition is suppose to do.

Feb 19, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Costco KS 6 Hearing aids
by: Anonymous

Just wanted to give everyone the true story on Costco hearing aids as it seems some are confused about the manufacturer of KS 6 hearing aids.

They are made by the Resound company and while they have similarities to a particular model of Resound hearing aid, they are made exclusively for Costco.

Costco, using tactics similar to Wal-Mart forces their vendors to compete for the KS contract, forcing them to produce a model for a certain price, in this case 1799.99. This forces the vendors to cut their costs of producing the hearing aid which results in an inferior product.

The vendors will do it because it will mean selling more hearing aids for them. The above mentioned relationship produces an adequate, however inferior hearing aid. Besides inferior sound quality, the KS 6 hearing aid tends to go through batteries more frequently than other brands. While this may not bother some because of the low price of batteries at Costco, it does get the customer back into the store with the possibility they may make other purchases in their store.

While some dispensers at Costco sincerely interested in helping people hear better, they may not be aware of the above mentioned tactic used by the company. Costco also did change the price of KS hearing aid from 1899.99 to 1799.99 in California where many dispensers are put in a position where they have to offer people a 1799.99 pair of h/a's or a pair for 2799.99 in Ca.

Many choose the lower priced hearing aid, making it difficult for a sincere dispenser to provide the best h/a for their needs. So while there are some good things about the KS 6, do not fool yourself into thinking there is not an ulterior motive behind why and how they are selling hearing aids for the prices they are selling them at. Anonymous

Feb 09, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
More info please?
by: Anonymous

I've seen comments on battery life only being 3 or 4 days. Can someone tell me what the battery life is in hours? Not everyone wears them the same amount of time per day. I'm also curious about the other necessary accessories like the little rubbery like cones (sorry, don't know the real term) and the filters.

I had the expensive ($4,000) pair and lost them in the ocean but my three years isn't up yet for my insurance. Last question, does this hearing aid help with Tinnitus? My expensive pair (for the most part) eliminated the ringing in my ears, which is the real reason I went into the Audiologist in the first place, not to mention that my hearing sucked as well.

Feb 07, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Costco hearing aids are the best deal. Don't listen to the shills on this board
by: Bob

I'm sure there are some shills that work for some hearing aid offices on this board. Here are the facts on Costco Hearing Aids:

1) Warranty/price/value is virtually unbeatable.

2) Costco offers their own Kirkland brands, but also offers other top brand hearing aids for much less than almost all other places.

3) The Rexton Trax 42 is a top of the line Siemen's binax 7 hearing aid. The Kirkland brand is a Resound Linx, which is a good hearing aid for the price, but will not perform as well for most people in a noisy restaurant environment. However, the Trax cost more and is probably not needed if you don't need the extra features.

As always, do you own research before making a huge purchase.

Feb 01, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Kirkland Signature 6 better than Rexton
by: Mark M

I first bought the Rexton Trac 42. The Smart Connect device was hassle to wear and charge daily. Went back and exchanged for the Kirkland Signature 6.0.

I have only had them about a week but I already like them better than the more expensive pair. These were $1800 compared to $2600. I like the sound better, the phone connection is much better, and the app is by far much better.

Matt at the Manchester, MO store is very nice and professional. He took great care of me.

Feb 01, 2016
Rating
starstar
Disappointed with Costco Kirkland 6 Hearing Aids!
by: Peter

I bought the Kirkland 6 hearing aids and I have found they were no where as good as the trial set I tried from another supplier. Granted the trial ones were more than double the price but Costco inferred that theirs were just as good if not better.

I get severe feedback when anything gets close to the hearing aid such as the back of a lounge chair that I'm sitting in and also when you go into a shop with a customer door alarm they scream for about 5 seconds.

The audiologist at Costco's reaction was that there was not anything he could do about it. Also when in the car I found that I can't hear near as well as the trial set.

My wife also says I am not hearing as well as I was when I had the trial set.

Jan 29, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
First time wearer, long time no hearer
by: Don't Say HUH

Fellow hard of hearing humans, GREETINGS!

I have known I needed hearing aids for sometime. My "reverse curve" loss was explained to me by the pro at Costco hearing center. My issue was that I could hear perfectly all of the music and background noise in a crowded restaurant, but if you were sitting across the table I could see your lips moving while you were eating and while you were talking - and that's it.

I couldn't imagine continuing this way making people repeat themselves perpetually. So, I signed up for the free test, consult, and demo. I didn't do one demo, I did multiples. Just like any other major purchase, I tried several pairs out before I made a decision.

I did my research online and asked other customers whom I noticed wearing hearing aids or mingling outside of the hearing aid department at Costco. My decision was for the KS 6.0 models. Currently priced at $1799.00, and NO TAX (medical device)! I have an iPhone and so when these aids are married to the phone (takes about a blink), I can have up to 20 favorite "hearing environments" saved as GPS based favorites.

This is all done automatically by the app once you designate your favorite locations each time you enter a saved location. Restaurants, shopping, church, work, home, etc. It is a dream come true in that regard. I get in the car and drive to work and the hearing aids make a nice soft tone to let me know they have my ears. A very sophisticated and a deal making feature. Not something they immediately threw in my face when I was shopping for them, and to their discredit, I have no idea why. This would have made me choose these much faster. Another caveat to this hearing aids/phone app marriage is the fact that if I lose one or both aids someplace, the app will locate the hearing aids location for you. That's right, it will tell you precisely where they are on a GPS based graphical map. How about that?

If you are considering hearing aids at Costco, and you have an iPhone, download the Choice app and play around with it in demo mode. Then make an appointment at Costco and make sure you tell them you want to test drive them in the store using the app.

I have returned to Costco 2 times in this past month of ownership once because my batteries went dead while shopping and they cheerfully hooked me up, and the second was a followup fitment appointment. At that appointment I asked about changing out the silicone rubber inserts which fit inside of the ear canal, I wasn't happy with the fit. The technician listened to me and went to his toolbox of parts and on the first try he hit a homer. I feel now they are simply excellent!

By the way, I am 53 years old. This doesn't require a degree in applied engineering to get the most out of the aids.

My grandkids sound great. Oddly, so does my lovely wife.

Jan 28, 2016
Rating
starstarstar
Bait and switch
by: Todd

I went in to talk to them about the Kirkland model and the staff member said that the 1799.99 a pair would probably not meet my needs. Seemed like a bait and switch. I left.

Jan 12, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Battery Life
by: Anonymous

You get about 18-20 hours on the rechargeable battery. This has not been a problem for me as they are fully charged when I get up in the morning.

I have been using Costco hearing aids now for about 7-8 years and just ordered a new pair that uses my iPhone for a controller. Also ordered the TV Streamer that blue tooth's directly to the hearing aids and provides the ability using the App on the iPhone to control streamer volume and HA volume independently.

These newer hearing aids do not work with a rechargeable battery so it is back to the old 312 which should work at least a week.

Jan 05, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Can't let it go by
by: Ken B

Not sure what previous poster is talking about with special battery and 24 hour life.

I consistently get 4 days and cost of batteries is negligible.

I've had mine now for nearly two years and have had a few problems but except for one was handled in the store immediately with no hassle. I even had one fail..which they sent for repair and was back in 4 working days.

Was I aggravated? Yes slightly, but know that these things happened and if I had bought them elsewhere would be out the cost of repair at best.

I guess what I really like best is the attitude that "we will take care of the problem, no matter what and as soon as possible".

I've got just over a year left on warranty and if they make it that long with no significant problems I'll be back for a new pair.. and suspect that due to technology will be better than these.

Jan 05, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Updates
by: SteveAnonymous

Costco Kirkkand brand hearing aids are Resound instruments. Just purchased a pair and the programming in the store was done using Resound software.

The return policy just changed to 180 days with no questions if you don't like them. Their batteries also just changed from 40 for about $8.90 to 48 for $8.30.

Very professional staff, no issues so far, I just saved over $2800.00 from my last Phonak pair.

Happy

Dec 30, 2015
Rating
starstar
Inconvenient
by: Anonymous

CostCo Kirkland Signature hearing aids are of the same quality of the average lower priced aids.

While technology made them small, that's where convenience ends. These aids require a special battery that you must break the seal and then wait up to a minute or two before inserting into the device. And batteries will last no longer than 24 hrs, so must be replaced daily, so even after you buy the hearing aid you will incur a minimum monthly cost of $20 to wear them plus the inconvenience of taking out the old battery daily, breaking the seal on the new, waiting for a couple minutes and then inserting the device.

I have worn hearing aids for over a decade and can say this process is absolutely ridiculous!

Dec 02, 2015
Rating
star
They never worked good!
by: Marvin Chappell

After trying to use the Kirkland hearing aids for 4 years, and never being able to wear them 1 whole day, I am making an appointment with another hearing aid specialist.

We took them back over the 2 years many times, the Drs. would change, and its a 2 hr drive to Reno, NV. Its been a mess, we even tried a super dooper ear dryer, because we were told it was sweat.

Would try to wear them to the show and the one hear or both would stop working. They had no hearing Dr. for awhile and then get one, and then another. Just not worth the money and the drive and trying to catch someone there.

Nov 09, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Costco hearing aids
by: Anonymous

Was told by my ENT doctor to go to Costco and glad I did. Have the charger and do not wear them every day but for church or an outing. They are wonderful. Husband has those with little tiny batteries that roll around and has a problem, didn't get them from Costco.

Advice: I couldn't hear out of one, ENT said ear clogged with wax. Friend couldn't hear and what he put in his ear was full of wax. Just sayin'

Oct 26, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Earmolds to hold hearing aids in place.
by: Anonymous

Earmolds can be used to hold your hearing aids in your ear. You may want to talk to the hearing aid specialist first to see if they could use a longer receiver. If the receiver wire is too short, it will pull the dome out of your ear.

Earmolds are custom fit for your ear and will stay in the ear better when the dome does not want to stay put. Make sure the specialist understands your hearing loss. The earmold may occlude or block your ear canal more causing your voice to sound like it's in a barrel or have an echo effect. So if you have a high frequency hearing loss, the earmold should be made with a large vent to allow low frequency sounds to escape so you don't feel like you are talking in a barrel.

Hope this helps!

Ron Allander, BC-HIS

Oct 26, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Ear molds from Costco
by: Anonymous

How good is ear molds? I can't keep the AIDS in my ears

Oct 20, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great hearing aids
by: Al Halowell

I've had my Signature 6.0 hearing aids for just over three weeks. They are great! They are very comfortable to wear, in fact I forget I have them in most of the time. I am amazed at how much I wasn't hearing. I guess when it goes gradually you don't realize how bad your hearing has gotten.

I am also very happy with the cost savings from other devices of the same quality/functionality.

I like being able to listen to music from my iPhone, and talking on my iPhone. The app gives me good control in any environment. The only complaint I have is the battery life. I'm getting about three days to a set of batteries. Even at this rate it's only gonna cost me about $65 annually for batteries.

I would strongly recommend these devices to anyone in need of hearing aids. I'm certainly happy with my choice.

Oct 03, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Costco Kirkland Signature Plus
by: Richard

This is my second set from Costco and I like the way they sell hearing aids. You get a through hearing test and then you try the hearing aids before you commit to spending money!

These are the re-labelled Re-Sound hearing aids that work with the Kirkland Signature Plus App on (some) iPhones. These are the best hearing aids I've used. The app is pretty good, there is a selection of different programs: Softswitch (normal), restaurant, outdoor and traffic. There are others available. I like the ability to adjust the volume on each hearing aid individually. So far I am unable to connect the hearing aids to a bluetooth transmitter connected to the TV. Re-Sound sells on for their version, I don't know if it's compatible with the Costco version. It costs something like $450.00, so I hope there's a cheaper solution. Again, these are very good hearing aids.

Aug 30, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Rexton hasn't made Kirkland Sig's for 3 years!!!
by: Anonymous

Sometimes I wonder if these people know what they are speaking about. Rexton did, indeed make Kirkland Signature hearing aids 3-4 years ago, but ReSound has had the Kirkland Signature brand Contract for the past 2-3 years. You can tell by the shape of the hearing aid case!

In any event, all hearing aids sold by Costco are new, new technology and not "leftovers from several years ago that went unsold by the manufacturers" as many private practice hearing aid dealers, audiologists, and otolaryngologists would lead you to believe. A lot of sour grapes going on out there! Costco hearing specialists do not work on commission, work directly for Costco, and buy in such huge numbers the prices can be kept low. There is little overhead, as everything is computerized and they are located in an existing warehouse space. They definitely do not sell an inferior product!

Aug 30, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Kirkland Signature
by: Anonymous

First of all, Kirkland Signature 6.0 hearing aids do not have rechargeable batteries or a charger available. Yes they are wonderful hearing aids (made by ReSound).

The Phonak Hearing aids have a 3 year Loss and damage warranty--all others (Bernafon, Rexton, ReSound, KS6) have a 2 year. Rextons are the only ones sold by Costco that have rechargeable batteries if desired.

I did a lot of research before purchasing my Phonak Brio RIC hearing aids, which now come with an EasyCall accessory at no extra charge that lets me hear really well on my cell phone (bluetooth to both hearing aids at the same time). The audiologist said that they will be selling for 149.99 after the introductory period.


Aug 14, 2015
Rating
starstarstar
Maybe I got a lemon?
by: Anonymous

I was very happy with the Benefon's I got at Costco years ago and have recommended Costco to all until my recent experience. In preparation for retirement I purchased new Kirkland aids and have been very frustrated.

The good news is that I can hear much better with them. The bad news is that the left one makes a popping noise in a number of situations and over the course of several months Costco can not seem to fix it. The popping is clearly related to vibration. It happens on rough freeway pavement, on airplanes, near a piano or in a party with recorded sound.

It is very irritating and sometimes I just have to take it out. They said they replaced it once. The company keeps telling the audiologist to make adjustments or reconfigure and it doesn't work and it takes weeks to get a call back or another appointment. (The Richmond CA Costco hearing dept appears to be seriously understaffed.)
Has anyone else had this problem? If so was there a solution?

Aug 14, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I Can Hear Again
by: Satisfied Signature 6 user

After quite a few tries to find hearing aids that worked satisfactorily, I found one. I had purchased a single hearing aid from Beltone for $2700,that helped some, I decided it was time to get one for the other ear. I dreaded having to shell out another $2700 for one with a single year warranty. Then I came to Costco.

I'm a longtime Costco member and stopped by the hearing center one day and talked to the technician. I took the brochures, read reviews, and decided to make an appointment.

Susan was the audiologist and was wonderful. I received the most extensive test I have ever had, and now the satisfied owner and user of a pair of Signature 6.0 aids. And, they cost only $1799. No more Beltone for me.

Jul 28, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
The technology suffices--if it's not the latest, so what?
by: Mike Myers

Let me toss my three or four cents in here. I've just purchased a pair of Kirkland Signature 6 hearing aids--took delivery today (July 28).

This is my fifth set of hearing aids--I've been wearing them since 1990. They all seem to last about six years before they wear out or can't be repaired any more. Hearing aids exist in a hot and wet environment in or behind your year; the case integrity finally goes and water or moisture gets in them. They can be repaired a few times, but then they are kaput.

My hearing loss has remained fairly constant--i.e. I haven't gotten worse over the 25 years I've been wearing hearing aids. But, that said, my hearing loss is fairly severe. I've bought top brands from a private audiologist. The price has gone up with each pair. I paid $1,500 for the first pair; $3,500 for the second pair; $5,000 for the third, and $6,500 for the fourth. The audiologist who sold me my 2d,3d and 4th pairs of hearing aids has retired and sold his business to a new audiologist. If I bought from her, my "fifth pair" would have cost ~$7,000.

I bought my "fifth pair" from Costco, and paid less than $2,000. The hearing aids are made by a company in Wisconsin or Minnesota. If I bought them under the manufacturer's brand name, from a private audiologist, I might have paid $4,500 or $5,000 for them.

I'm responding to "Scott" and his critique. Are these Kirkland 6 hearing aids the "latest" technology? I don't know. They work and compensate for my hearing loss. Once that's done, I don't give a flying fig if they are the "latest and greatest". They do the job.

The hearing aid industry problem is the business model. You pay an audiologist a very high price for a pair of hearing aids. He gets or takes a commission or profit on the sale of the hearing aids. Thereafter, for the life of the hearing aid (as noted they last about six years) you come in for service and adjustment. You need your hearing aid adjusted? It's done for free? The ear tube is broken and needs to be replaced? It's done for free. It needs to be shipped back to the factory for repairs? The audiologist does it for free.

In short, the private audiologist collects a fat profit or commission up front at the very start of the deal. Then he's on the hook for six years of service, repairs and adjustments.

I'd rather pay less up front--and then pay for what I use as I go.

The Costco audiologists (or professional hearing aid fitters--however they are trained) make big noises about servicing and cleaning your hearing aids for free when you come to shop at Costco.

We'll see. Mine are too new to tell. But in the meantime, I still have five grand in my pocket, along with new hearing aids in my ears.

Jul 27, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
fau pauxs with Rexton Kirkland
by: Ddub43

Seems Costcos in east burbs of Denver are a bit unsettled with specialists -- too much turnover. Perhaps the big label guys are buying-off Costco employees?

I've had Kirkland Rexton gear for over 3 years. Seems good equipment, however, if understood correctly, typical equipment is good for 3-5 years. To this point I've had service requiring returning to Rexton 2X's and suspect will need something major again shortly due rapid discharge of batteries.

I wonder whether Rexton has a known product problem. Such a coincidence a good friend purchased Kirkland about a year after my purchase; he just had to have equipment returned to Rexton due to rapid (<1-2 days) battery discharge.

Overall, I think Kirkland has a great product for the money but personnel turnover is frustrating and as product continues increasing popularity, more difficult to get appointments with specialists.

Jul 26, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Outstanding
by: Billy Minton

I have been suffering from hearing loss for over 6 years. My first pair of hearing aids were purchased from miracle ear at a cost of $6700.00 4 years ago, with no sound at all in my left ear.

Recently had further tests done and discovered I have severe to profound hearing loss in my left ear, visited Miracle Ear once again and was told I would need a super power for left ear at a cost of $8500.00 for the pair, decided I could not afford this.
After researching on the internet decided to try Costco, traveled to Louisville 80 miles away and had testing done, and let me tell you I was extremely impressed with the very extensive test.

Douglas Mohle audiologist was absolutely incredible, informative, patient, he recommended the Kirkland 6.0 hearing aids, went back 2 weeks later for the fitting and have been wearing them for 4 months now, I have sound in my left ear which I have not had in several years, they are extremely satisfying and comfortable.

My wife is very satisfied as well, I hear more clearly than ever before, I purchased the hearing aids and remote control for less than $2000.00, don't take my word for this try for your self.

I strongly recommend Douglas Mohle and the staff at Louisville, KY Costco, I would have to give them a 5 star rating plus.

Thank You Doug, Great Job.

Billy

Jul 24, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Outstanding Technology And Price
by: Dr. D

For the past few years that terrible word "what" has crept into my daily vocabulary more than I would like. After much prodding by my spouse, I had multiple audiology tests. All showed a moderate hearing loss.

Tried to convince the audiologist that it was just my spouse's voice that I had difficulty hearing. Unfortunately (or fortunately) that was not the case.

Realizing that a significant expenditure was on the horizon, I began researching the industry.
After a few months the following was found:

1. Most hearing aid technology emanates from Denmark.

2. Doctors of Audiology are rapidly replacing audiologist with lesser degrees. In my opinion, it is an attempt to add more "professionalism" to the profession. Not too dissimilar to what has occurred with pharmacists.

3. When there as many ads for hearing aids as there are for mattresses, you know there is a significant markup. One private audiologist's blog noted that Costco's prices were below what she paid for the same product. Costco's supplier contracts are based on covering only the manufacturers' variable cost.

4. The current Costco Signature 6.0 is in fact the same as GNResound Linx9 (wholly owned subsidiary of GN Store Nord, a Danish company that also produces Beltone). The only functional difference is that the Signature does not contain the Linx9 tinnitus reduction function. In March 2015, GNResound introduced the second generation Linx. A review of technical articles about the upgrade found that the upgrades were rather minor. (Personally I am a GNResound fan, however Phonak provides Costco its most recent technology).

5. Just to be sure of your specific hearing issues, I would recommend visiting an ENT physician that has an audiologist in their office. Have the ENT review the results of the test. Avoid the hard sell for their in-house aid sales. Take the results to Costco and compare the results with Costco's test. You will find that they are basically the same. Choose a Costco product and you will save anywhere from 50% to 100%.

Hope the above helps. After due deliberation, I will be fitted for the Kirkland Signature 6.0 next Tuesday.

Jul 13, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Get your Hearing Aids at Costco
by: Carol

I got my first hearing aids from a hearing dealer 7 years ago at the cost of $5,500.00

They quit working. The dealer retired so I was out of luck. I went to another hearing dealer the cost was now over $6,000.00. Checked Costco the cost is $1,799.99. Sam from the San Juan Capistrano Costco was professional and knew his products.
If I could give them more than 5 Stars I would.
It is wonderful to hear again.
Carol

Jul 06, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Scotts full of it
by: JohnD

Scott's diatribe is BS. So are all of the hearing aid dealers that bad mouth Costco.

The Kirkland 6.0 is state of the art. It is made by Siemens who is a world leader in this technology. It is exactly the same device as sold by Rexton, which is owned by Siemens. They have a 3 yr warranty which is 2 years longer than most. They have all the functionality that the most expensive ones have.

The Hearing Aid specialists are not audiologists but are formally trained hearing aid specialists. They use the exact same program that 2 audiologists I visited use. You do not need to be an audiologist to fit hearing aids.

Scotts rant is purely based on the fact that Costco is about half the price and he is losing money. He is doing all of you a disservice with his misinformation.


Jul 02, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstar
Trying hearing aids again
by: Ron Ray

Had a hearing aid over 10 years ago from a local audiologist at an extremely high cost - $3200 for one! No guarantee, no refund. It was an in the canal type and it blocked what natural hearing I did have. What a waste.

I am deaf in one ear and have at minimum 60% loss in the right ear. Having shopped at Costco and finding the price overwhelmingly reasonable, I has a test, discussed in depth my loss with the tech and tried one on and walked around the store with it for over an hour. Because of the profound loss I will be able to hear up to 6 feet around me but that will be fine since now my wife has to lean and talk loudly into my ear.

I have been pretty good reading lips but it is exasperating. The cost for Rexton 6 hearing aid worn behind the ear but very discreet will be 1300. Love the guarantee and the service, no hassle, no strong arm selling.(They don't get paid on commission)

Jun 25, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I just bought my second pair of Costco Hearing Aids
by: K. Lee

I bought my first pair in January 2009. I can't complain about almost six and one-half years of service, even after getting them wet on numerous occasions. I originally went to my medical clinic for hearing aids but they wanted $6000 for two basic aids.

I read a favorable article in the Wall Street Journal about Costco hearing aids so I went there and bought a pair of premium aids for $2000 plus the $50 membership fee. (I got $60 cash back for using my American Express card!) I have no complaints. I have never paid for adjustments or cleanings. The hearing aids work very well.

I purchased a pair for my father in law who is so satisfied that he has referred several of his friends to Costco. Costco has trained non-commissioned hearing aid fitters who sell premium aids at a low price. I will not buy hearing aids anywhere else.

Jun 22, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
They're Great. Don't Listen to the Nonsense
by: Vito LoCicero

I just got a pair of Kirkland Signature 6 hearing aids. I did thorough research, and found them to be a sufficiently current technology, at an attractive price. No they are not the absolute latest technology, however, they are relatively current, and provide an acceptable level of hearing quality for my needs, at less than half the price of others selling a comparable product.

By law, audiologists must be licensed and trained. The particular individual I worked with was knowledgable, experienced and came from having worked in a small private practice for 10 years.

I don't know who this Scott guy is who posted his diatribe, but he's misinformed and misstates the facts. Do your homework, try the product out for 90 days, and see if it works for you. Only you can judge what meets your needs. Not some elitist who makes his living selling products at inflated prices to folks who don't know that there are other options.

Jun 19, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Impressed
by: WTG

Having finally made up my mind to get hearing aids (vanity and penny pinching issues) I went to my audiologist, was tested and diagnosed with moderate loss, and ordered the level 9 Resound aids that would pair with my iphone 6.

After explaining to my wife the $6400 cost, she got busy on the internet. Long story short, we studied up, made an appointment, drove 3 hours to Costco in Overland Park, Kansas, was tested, and walked out 2.5 hours with the comparable hearing aids (made by Resound) Kirkland 6.0 for $1800.

Cindy at Costco could NOT have been more pleasant, helpful, patient, or competent. She is an ambassador for Costco. Word must be spread about the ability to save a ton of money by purchasing first rate hearing aids from Costco instead of from the audiologist.

Jun 14, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Costco refund policy
by: JQ

Costco has a 90 day refund policy on their hearing aids. They admit they can't make everyone satisfied. But, give them a chance to make adjustments, but keep an eye on the calendar!

Jun 14, 2015
Rating
starstarstar
Only 5 days in with Kirkland 6.0
by: Erniejaxx

I have severe hearing loss due to 50 years in the musical instrument products and pro audio industry (sound systems). I have had hearing aids before but I stopped wearing them 10 years ago due to constant feed back.

Bought the Kirkland 6.0 Wednesday 6/10/15 at Costco in Brentwood, TN. Not very satisfied at this point. A lot of digital distortion like the mic preamp is overdriving the output amp. My iPhone streaming so distorted I cannot use it. I return for another consult 7/11/15, hopefully I will acclimate to the fuzzy audio.

Jun 11, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstar
Kirkland Signature 6.0
by: JohnD

I did a little research and looked around for a couple of months (I was an IT analyst when I worked and am very thorough).

I had a couple of hearing tests. Apparently all hearing aid centers use the same program. I talked to several persons that eventually bought Kirkland about their experiences and they all said the same thing. Good hearing aids at half the price of most others.

I bought Kirkland and so far am pleased with the people at Costco.

Mine allows the use of any apple device as a remote. It will stream music and have 4 different custom user setting. The volume can be controlled individually. Lots of other features.
So far I'm satisfied.

Apr 21, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Type of hearing loss for Kirkland Signature
by: Donna

I am wondering, for those that have the Kirkland signature hearing aids, what type of hearing loss you have? I took my father to get hearing aids from Costco (he is 86) when his others were destroyed.

We went in looking to get the Kirkland Signature hearing aids, but were told by the audiologist that they wouldn't work for my dad. My dad needs the loudness amplified. That's really all. The Signature hearing aids were the closest to what he had in the past, and felt that he would adjust to those better, at his age, than something new.

The audiologist, like I said, said they wouldn't work for him and sold us a set of hearing aids that mold in the ear and don't have a thing that goes around the ear. So far, they have been a nightmare.

When my parents went in today, because the left one wasn't working, the audiologist was very rude and said that we all had a negative attitude from the start and that we would never be pleased.

This isn't true. The problem is the ones we have, get clogged with was easily and neither of my parents have agile enough dexterity to clean them properly. I wasn't with them today, but I plan on going over there tomorrow to have a chat with this guy.

The right hearing aid has been sent back to have the mold adjusted because it left a sore in my dads ear. Now he sent off the left one to have the filter type replaced. I'm just frustrated, that I have been telling my dad to give these a chance and they don't seem to be working well for an 86 yr old man.....

Apr 05, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Reply to Review of Costco Kirkland Signature Hearing Aids
by: Marilyn

You have got to book an appointment and make the fitter aware of your issues. You are not helping yourself by working against the fitter, you must work with them. Just like you would at the Doctor's. If they itch, pull it out and reinsert, this relieves the itch in most cases. If the itch persists, there are simple solutions that can be applied to the tip of the hearing aid to relieve the itch. As for the sound, again, make the fitter aware of your issues. There is a 90 day period to ensure that you are on the right track. If you and the fitter cannot get your communication abilities to a satisfactory level (notably better with than without the hearing aids), then simply return the hearing aids and try another set. Giving up and deciding that you are "done" is only leaving you in the cold and with a reduced quality of life.

Mar 31, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Do some research on hearing aids
by: Marilyn

I got tired of asking people to repeat themselves and I'm sure they were tired of hearing me asking. I bought 2 Premium Digital Hearing Aids with remote control and accessory kit. I wasn't happy with them at first, but I thought I just had to get used to them or learn how to use them properly.

I don't like being negative, but I'm very unhappy with them They cause my ears to itch, they seem to block as much sound as they let through - my hearing is not better at all. They go through a lot of batteries

I've quit wearing them and can't say I even notice a difference to my hearing and I'm irritated by the amount of money I wasted.

Mar 18, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Costco 5.0 premium hearing aids
by: Kelly

I have severe hearing loss in both ears and have been wearing hearing aids for a while now. When my old set quit me and I was told it was time to get new ones, I was floored by the price. I have been wearing the Resound 5.0 and loved them, so in looking at the Kirkland 5.0, they are nearly identical, and I have been told they are the older model resound.

Now I do not know if this is true or not, but the Kirkland signature series 5.0 premium hearing aids seem to work just as good as the old ones, and they were cheaper. I have had two other brands, as well, and I can tell you that when adjusted properly, they are just as good as what I have had in the past. The batteries last me about four days, but when you can buy forty of them at ten dollars, it compares in price to the others. My resound lasted about six days, but my hearing loss was less then as well. Taken into consideration, all the factors, some people will not be able to afford the best, but the Kirkland Signature series for me was just as good as some of the other major brands, and cost half the price.

I know many people complain that Costco provides a cheaper brand, but I can tell you that my Kirkland 5.0 premium Hearing aids are better tone quality than some others, and have out lasted a major brand hearing aid. Do not take the words of anyone else as proof of how good or bad something is. We are all bias and have either had bad or good experiences.

The best thing to do is go check them out for yourself. I chose Kirkland for the cost, and the fact that the sound was just as good as other major brands, but you need to be your own judge.

Mar 06, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I Like Costco Hearing Aids
by: Anonymous

I have worn Costco aids for 5 years (on my second set) and have no complaints. Mine are open fit aids made by Bernafon. Good technology, good service, great price.

My company provides services to people who are deaf and hard of hearing and Costco is the go to place for many of our clients. Some people might make other choices but they work for me. I have moderate, high frequency hearing loss.

Feb 23, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
The open market works for all
by: THE NTT

These "professionals" are desperately trying to justify their overpriced existence. I am sure they still pay $300 for eye glasses too. I am fortunate enough to have an audiologist who was honest enough to tell me that you simply cannot buy hearing aids of any quality level, high or low, at a better price than Costco. Smaller providers are desperately trying to stay in business by making arrangements with insurance companies that are worthless to the patient but drive business to the aid providers. It works the same way the optometrist works. You get a ridiculously small benefit, maybe $35 toward eye glasses or $300 toward a hearing aid. Of course you have to go to a specific shop and of course you cannot get any equipment for that ridiculous amount. You need to pay at least $2500 for a quality base level aid. The mark up is around $1000. Or pay a minimum of $150 for eye glasses. The mark up.... about $125. So what to do? The HIPAA laws make it illegal for any health provider to withhold information they have on file. This includes your eyeglass or hearing Rx. They will not like it but simply tell them you want a copy of your Rx. I have had arrogant receptionist try to refuse. When I informed her of the correct language of the law told her to go tell the Doctor she had refused to give it to me the Doctor locked himself in his office and yelled at through the door "dammit just give it to him". For eye glasses go online and get you $250 glasses for $49 or less. Or go to Costco and get your $3500 hearing aid for $1500. I have been wearing eye glasses for 55 years. The only difference in the glasses is that the guy that sells me the $49 glasses doesn't drive a BMW or Mercedes. But I do.

Feb 18, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
RE: Horizon & Anonymous
by: Anonymous

I've been to several clinics in MB, Horizon is far from "conning" anybody. They are giving access to many people who cannot drive into the city, including myself. They are a small local company, how can they run full time offices in every town they visit?

They are visit once a month, and see as many people per day as they can. service has always been good. yes, hearing aids are expensive, but some of us cannot even drive, so the value of their services is very high. I do not condone bashing of any company, including Costco, so while I disagree with Scott's post below, I think "anonymous" should stop manipulating words trying to bury a competitor, because the accusations are not true and are extremely unprofessional coming from another "professional" in the industry. just my 2 cents.

Feb 15, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Would like to try what Scott recommends.
by: Stan b

Scott, I'm certainly not bashing you and understand what you're experiencing in sales. If people can save a dollar, even if it's a poorer product, they'll most likely do so. Being retired and on a limited budget, I'm not any different but with age comes experience. I love a 3-4 yr. warranty and a thorough testing before buying. Plus a 60-90 return policy eliminates the mistake of an impulse purchase.

My Kirkland 4.0's are nearly 3 yrs. old and I'll be looking for new aids in about 4 months. My insurance will pay some of the cost at Hear USA here in the Tampa Bay area. Is there a brand(s) of aids that you recommend I take for a test drive?

Feb 14, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
A very professional response.
by: Scott Greig

Interesting how you know sooo much about me, yet you post nothing about yourself. I never mentioned what clinic I worked for, nor did I divulge any info on myself. HOW DO YOU KNOW SO MUCH , YET SO LITTLE ABOUT ME? But I can tell for starters, your an employee of the BIG BOX STORE. Who else in the private industry would know the difference between the Linx5, oops , I mean the Rexton 5.0 hearing aid. Secondly, only a guy would call another guy a douchebag. Narrows it down even more.
I know almost every practitioner at our Winnipeg Costco, who couldnt make it in a private clinics or otherwise.
I'll find you ANONYMOUS.

And I've never sold my soul to the devil, but I'll meet him up for a drink every now and then. Maybe I'll see you too.

Feb 14, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Banter
by: Stan b

Wow, ANONYMOUS, those are pretty harsh words for Scott G that you typed out. Do you actually know him?! LOL. I guess thats the great thing about the internet, is that you can cowardly hide behind an mask.
As for Phonak selling their premium" hearing aids in Costco, an interesting article about the company's backlash.
Their private sector sales must have really taken a hit..http://www.law360.com/articles/596813/hearing-aid-maker-sonova-launches-518m-share-buyback.


Feb 14, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Re: Scott Greig
by: Anonymous

I, like this Scott fellow, test and fit hearing aids everyday. I find it interesting that he says that Costco sells old technology, up to 4 years old or something like that. Maybe at one time this was true but is definitely no longer the case. Costco gets the new technology maximum 6 months after the private clinics do.

Quite honestly, the Kirkland 5.0 hearing aids made by ReSound are shit. Spend the extra $800 on Phonak or Rexton hearing aids and you will be pleasantly surprised at the performance. You will literally pay double or more for the same technology elsewhere. I also find this douchebag's comment about Costco selling old technology hilarious because his company, Horizon Hearing, which operates in Winnipeg, Manitoba, has TV commercials advertising Oticon Agile hearing aids. Agiles are in fact old Oticon technology. So Scott, what the hell are you talking about? So keep lying Scott. The Manitoba Hearing industry knows your company can only stay afloat by conning rural folk in Manitoba in your "pop up shop" clinics that are barely ever open. Now that's service! Enjoy sliding down the spiral into bankruptcy.

After your done, or have sold your soul to Oticon (which you probably already have) go apply for a job at Costco, if they'll hire you, which they probably won't because they actually perform I dependant verification on they're hearing aid fittings called Real Ear Measurements.

Jan 31, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstar
OK performance, some very annoying features on Costco ReSound Hearing Aids
by: Pamlet

I've worn hearing aids my whole life, so I'm something of an expert! Some of the features on the ReSound model I got just annoy the heck out of me. WHY the 10 dings before it works? I just want to turn it on, not have to wait half a minute before I can use the damn thing. I take out my aids while I'm working -- it's really distracting when someone comes in and I can't' just pop the aids back in my ear. Ditto the music when the batteries are dying. What if I'm in the middle of a conversation and I get that sound? Can't I tell when my batteries run out?

I have a setting for loop and that doesn't appear to work, even though I took the aids back to have it checked.

In addition, I bought the bluetooth device for the phone. Once again, there's a delay before it kicks in. This can be very confusing for the person calling you, because they're wondering why you picked up and you're not answering -- ditto the opposite, where you call someeone and the bluetooth doesn't kick it. And I won't even bore you with the problems I've had syncing it to my computer.

The Costco center itself is useless with respect to these issues. They refer you to the manufacturer, which is equally useless and unhelpful.

Having said all of that, for my usual day to day stuff, the aids are fine, and a bargain compared to the very expensive set I had previously.

Jan 30, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Costco's infuriates its competition
by: Stan b

I think Scott G. has lost a few customers to Costco? I can honestly state I've tested the $4,000 & $5,500 hearing aids from Miracle Ear, Audibel, Beltone, and Sam's Club, and then bought Kirkland's.

I have about a 60% hearing ability with the best aids I've tested, according to the various hearing specialist. Ironically, the best of what I've tested has been Sam's Club at about $3,600 with a 4 yr. warranty. The rest were close but for me and "my budget", It was a no-brainer to go with Kirkland's at Costco. A 3 yr. warranty and as good (in my opinion) as the expensive aids, for 2 grand! If I were in Scott's shoes (I was in sales for 14 yrs.) I would scream too. I've been told that Costco sells over 3 1/2 million H.A.s' every year?

I've noticed Beltone, Zounds, Audibel, Miracle Ear, etc. all having huge sells and reduced prices. Sounds like Costco's competition has had a "major" effect on H.A. market prices!

I sure wish I could afford the Mercedes of the Hearing Aid world but I'm very happy with my Chevy.

Jan 30, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Bashing Cosco
by: Anonymous

I'm in Florida and bought my aids from Costco in Columbus Oh. There is small rocker switch that changes a couple programs and loudness on each one. Somehow one came up missing... I went to the local Costco and the lady fixed it on the spot and cleaned each of them...just before closing.

I wasn't crazy about the rocker missing but know those things happen. I'd have been in a pickle if I'd bought it from my local guy for two and a half times more money with nearly no warranty... Thank you... I'll stick with Costco for the 3 years they are guaranteed and then throw them away and buy another pair... so far these have worked great...without sending an audiologists kid to college.

Jan 30, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
When you pay peanuts, you get monkeys.
by: Scott Greig

As a Hearing Practitioner, I test people for hearing loss as well as fit hearing aids up here in Canada.

Costco is the worst thing that ever could have happened to our industry, and for the people they fit hearing aids to. Costco is a billion dollar a year machine, and truthfully, it is hard as a private retailer to compete with these Giants like Walmart and other big box stores who seem to be dabbling more and more in Health Sector industries.

When Costco sell you a hearing aid, no matter what price you pay, it is low level technology. This is confirmed from every single hearing aid manufacturer's President and sales team. A lot of the technology is also dated, from either 2 to 3 generations old. A person with any degree of hearing loss will benefit from a properly fit hearing aid, but as a consumer, they are selling themselves short on what the improved "hearing experience" should be.

This brings me to my subject, "WHEN YOU PAY PEANUTS, YOU GET MONKEYS." Costco marks up their products (milk, clothes, meat , hearing aids) at 12%. That's why everything is so cheap. They make a majority of their profits on your membership fees, which people never seem to factor into the cost of their Costco hearing aids.

People as consumers can justify poor experiences or troubles with hearing aids because they didn't pay that much for the hearing aids.The difference between a good hearing clinic and Costco is that you are a transaction at Costco, and no matter how nice or how well your "hearing aid guy or gal" is , they don't care to see you again until you need to buy another hearing aid. That is the difference.

The cost of a hearing aid is broken down in two sections, technology and service.
If you buy a "cheap hearing aid" you are compromising either one or the other or both.

Dec 13, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Very Satisfied with Costco Kirland Signature Hearing Aids by Rexton
by: Dennis Kissinger

My local Costco has a Master's Degreed audiologist
on staff. Bought my Kirkland Signature pair of hearing aids (made by Rexton) almost four years ago for less than a single hearing aid from an audiologist some years before.

I have had great service, regular in-depth cleaning, hearing tests and reprogramming as needed all for no charge at Costco. Three year warranty. Had a problem at 3.5 years and they were repaired by factory at very reasonable charge, which was then reimbursed under my (free) Costco American Express extended warranty plan.

I won't be going anywhere else when it is time to replace/upgrade my hearing aids. Best service and value around.

Dec 11, 2014
Rating
star
Costco Hearing Aids...So far very bad not one good feature
by: Ava

So far hate them my Costco Hearing Aids. Voices sound terrible. You depend on the remote. When you misplace it the whole Thing does not work. For 2 month now always some other problems. Batteries are out way too soon. I will go back in a few days, am really unhappy.

Dec 03, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Completely satisfied
by: Seventy-one guy

I resisted at first only wearing them to please my wife, but now I can't live without them. I guess I didn't realize how much I was missing.

I dropped then stepped on one which broke. Costco replaced it for no charge with no hassle. Any Costco Hearing Center I've gone to (four different stores depending on my location) has given me first class, no pressure service.

I've recommended the Kirlands to a number of friends and had no bad feedback.

Nov 26, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
ENT sent me to Costco for Hearing Aids
by: Anonymous

When I told my ENT that I had limited funds and couldn't afford his prices he kindly told me to check out Costco.

I was so pleased with the staff and they sold me a Costco Kirkland Signature 5.0 hearing aids. No pressure. 1/3 the price of the audiologist at the ENT. I am thankful that their are still caring doctors in this country!

Nov 20, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Anonymous Costco Hearing Aid Reviews
by: Ron Allander

I just wanted to point out that "JTAnonymous" is complaining about negative Costco hearing aid reviews from people wanting to remain anonymous.

Nov 20, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Go With Costco
by: JTAnonymous

If you notice, the negative comments are most often from anonymous people, probably disgruntled audiologists!

My audiologist talked trash on this product telling me that Costco sells old technology and I needed a 2014. So, I went with him. Come to find out, he sold me a 2010 pair of used hearing aids as new. What a crook. I trust Costco employees more than any audiologist.

They are paid a salary. They were upfront and honest with me, and they didn't bad mouth anybody else or question my decisions. In fact, I returned the initial pair I purchased from Costco because my crooked audiologist promised me a price match with two levels up.

I got a mid-level, four year old set of used hearing aids. I checked with the company and they had never even been refurbished. He said that they sold for $2,400.00 a piece. Lots of fraud and deception still today in the hearing aid business.

Nov 06, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Best Guarantee EVER
by: Anonymous

This comment is in response to C.O. from October 7th. Today I received my Kirkland Signature hearing aids and I am completely thrilled and reassured.

Costco has an unbelievable 90 day trial period and three year warranty. If you do not like the hearing aids, you can take them back with no questions asked!

I had no idea how much my hearing had degraded, but the new hearing aids has given me a gift of hearing and I am having a great time with it.

I hope everyone would consider Costco as their hearing aid provider. They are a fantastic company that is customer focused.

Oct 07, 2014
Rating
star
Be careful with Costco hearing aids
by: C. O.

I have worn hearing aids for over 40 years and just purchased Kirkland Signature 5 hearing aids from Costco. Other than the price, I have not been very happy with them.

The last few hearing aids I have worn have been in the ear aids, the Costco aids are behind the ear. The generic molds make my ears sore so I will probably have to pay more for custom molds.

They are battery hogs. Batteries in my old hearing aids would last about two weeks. These hearing aid batteries have to be changed about twice a week. I have never known a hearing aid to drain batteries so rapidly. I hope to be able to adjust. I regret putting my money on them and wish I had taken my time.

I have seriously thought of repairing some of my old hearing aids and using the Costco aids for backup. I am not saying Costco cannot sell a decent hearing aid but I would be cautious.

Sep 21, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Form your own opinions thru comparisons!
by: Anonymous

Anonymous, I had professionals do a total hearing test on me at Miracle Ear, Audibel, Sam's Club, and at a Otolaryngologist's office. I tried all of the above hearing aids and the only aids I thought were better then Costco's were at Sam's Club and I think that was because the audiologist was tremendous. I couldn't afford Sam's though because at the time they were $1,500 higher then Costco's with a 3 yr. warranty.

It's very easy to knock the reviews and opinions on this site but I suggest you make the rounds at all of the hearing aid centers in your area and form your own opinions. I think you'll find that most aids are comparable to Costco's, maybe even a bit better, but when you factor in their prices, it becomes a no-brainer leaning heavily towards Costco. JMHO

Sep 21, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Costco Hearing Aid Reviews
by: Anonymous

I believe this must be a Costco website because real people don't talk like half the posts here. One states "I was in denial". Who talks like a commercial?
I think if you buy hearing aids at Costco you should have heart surgery at Wal-Mart.

Do you really want to have your hearing tested next to the bananas?
Saving money is one thing but really,think about it what hearing health professional would work at Costco?

A Collings

Jun 03, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Transformational!
by: Joe D.

Hearing degradation is so gradual I was in a state of denial. Much as everyone else I postponed confronting reality until my 3 1/2 year old grand-daughter's voice made me realize either I took steps to remedy this hearing loss or miss her precious childhood moments forever.

And then there were the warnings of all the negatives I was about to experience! Adjustment periods, quirks with the technology, feedback and such...

None of those have proven true: The INSTANT I was fitted my life was transformed. It's as if I had been living in 'black-and-white' and someone had thrown a switch that made it all 'Technicolor'!

Vanity? I've become 'proud' of these instruments, as if they make a statement of self-assurance. Interactions with others have improved, I hear nuances, make eye contact and enjoy dialogue. And I enjoy every little squeal of joy from my little Madison!

Three programs work like charm for me, and, oh, that 'mute' button comes in handy every once in a while (LOL!)

Wish I had done this years ago! $1,900 seems like a bargain, guess it's all relative!

May 06, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Unbelievable
by: Ken Boyles

I was the perfect candidate and exact description of the hearing aid buyer. I put it off for years because of cost and thought I could make myself learn to hear what I was missing.

After finally deciding to look into purchasing aids I started doing research and even tried a set from Sam's Club which were with extended warranty were around 3500 dollars. With a free return for ninety day guarantee in my pocket I continued to do research. I went to a local business that had been there for nearly 20 years and the gentleman that tested and owned the business seemed competent enough but wanted 5500 dollars and no warranty.

I finally decided to give Costco a try even though they were two hours away from my home. I like going to Columbus, Ohio so wouldn't be a loss if did not work out.

The Dr. in audiology that tested me, and they also had a trained tester there as well, gave me an evaluation like I have never received for any issue.. health, financial, auto..in my life.
I bought a set from him for 1900 dollars with a remote, plus the price of a Costco membership, with the guarantee of 3 years and loss for two!

The audiologist, who was a terrific guy, also insisted that I must come back in two weeks to have them put on a machine to check how I was wearing them and adjust if needed.. also stated that would like me to come back once more to discuss usage but could do it by phone due to the distance.

Perhaps there are better aids out there than the ones I am now wearing but I can assure that positively they could not be 3 times a good.
Am I happy with the aids..well no... I wish I didn't have to wear any. But they have made my life tremendously more enjoyable as well have made my wife and kids elated.

My thoughts are that if the aids last the warranted 3 years which I feel sure they will event if they need repaired, then there will be better quality more sophisticated ones available at close to the same price (these were 100 dollars less than their equivalent last year).

So far after a couple of months I can only say that ,for a change , I tried to save some money and don't feel that I had to settle for an inferior product.

Oct 15, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstar
Kirkland Hearing Aids
by: Anonymous

I just purchased my new Kirkland hearing aids about 6 weeks ago. I love the hearing aids, but I have had a lot of problems with the blue-tooth.

When I receive a call, they connect, I hear the person on the other end for about 5 or 6 words, then the receiving part quits working. The person on the other end can hear me, but I can't hear them. I have taken them in once to get it check & the tech re-pared them & they worked find at the Hearing Aide center, but won't work anywhere else.

Has anyone else had any problems with this?

Sep 18, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
It is terrible when you get lemons!
by: Stan B.

So sorry Ken with the bad luck with the Kirkland's. You probably got lemons and now you're fighting the battle to get them right. I'm surprised Costco doesn't just give you a new pair of hearing aids and be accept the fact the customer is always right.

I've sent mine in for a cleaning and it's supposed to take up to two weeks. They're all rusty inside as I'm not using the dryer enough like instructed.

I've been going to bed with my Blue Tooth on the bedroom TV and waking up in the morning with both hearing aids in so I end up wearing them 24/7 a lot of the time available if they don't get to the dryer...duh! So far though, I'm very satisfied with the Kirkland 4.0's but I understand 4.5's are now out and by a different manufacturer? My audiologist says they're better then ever.

Sep 18, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Costco Signature hearing aids
by: Ken

I purchased Costco Signature hearing aids a year ago with the Rexton wireless enhancement system.

They have both had the speakers replaced five times and one of the aids has been in for repair for a month. I am disappointed with both the quality and the dependability of the units.

The staff at Costco have been very accommodating during this time, but the speaker units are of poor quality. I will not repeat the same mistake when I purchase my next set of hearing aids.

Oct 06, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Have to Make a Hearing Aid Decision
by: stan b

Thanks for all of your comments as I'm about to make a hearing aid decision. I tried Sam's Club Liberty hearing aids SIE 64' (speaker in ear): http://libertyhearingaids.com/lh_products_3.html
and they were terrific!

I presently have 5 or 6 year old Miracle Ear aids and one recently quit and the fix estimate is $400. No way would I put that much money into the older aids.

The one that's still working is very rusted and doubt if it will last another year. Anyway, the SIE 64's are wonderful but dollar for dollar, if the Sig. 4.0's come anywhere close to the 64's, I'd have to go with Costco.

The 64's are $3,000 w/ 1 yr. warranty, $3,600 with a 4 yr. warranty. No Bluetooth ability, no remote, no battery charger/dryer, etc. "but" their pure hearing ability for my particular hearing loss, is unbelievable.

I'm hoping the Kirkland 4.0's come close as I have a hearing test coming up shortly. Costco said it would take at least a couple of weeks to get the new aids in plus I might need ear molds like I have now. Are the molds an additional cost?

The 4.0's seem to be one heck of a bang for the buck and if they do a reasonable job with helping me simply "hear" then I'll have to forego the Cadillac and go with the Chevy!

Stan

Jun 24, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstar
Kirkland hearing aid review
by: Tom

As a long time Costco believer, I bought a pair of Kirkland hearing aids in March of this year. They announced the new model right after I purchased and they upgraded at no additional charge.

Did have some problem with a bad rechargeable battery that made one of the units quit, but they repaired that unit at no charge. A short time later same unit quit and other one lost a control cover.

They replaced both hearing aids with new ones and so far they are fully functional. While I had some start up problems, Costco's Customer Service was fantastic and the hearing aids are a solid value.

Apr 11, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Costco Hearing Aids
by: Bob C.

I too bought a pair from Costco in Feb. 2009. The behind the ear type with the nearly invisible wire to the ear canal. I have graying hair and most people can't tell I have them in because they match my hair. On two occasions, during these past 3 years, one of my aids simply quit working. (sweat is a killer to hearing aids, and I walk a golf course 3 times a week at 5.3 miles per day) Costco replaced the unit, no questions asked, BOTH times! Whenever I'm in Costco, I stop by the H/A Specialist and he cleans them for FREE. GREAT guy named Keith Layton in Chino Hills Ca.!! Last week I lost one of them so I'm going to purchase new ones because the technology has advanced so much. GUESS WHERE??!! YUP, COSTCO!

Apr 11, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Costco Hearing Aids
by: Bob C.

I too bought a pair from Costco in Feb. 2009. The behind the ear type with the nearly invisible wire to the ear canal. I have graying hair and most people can't tell I have them in because they match my hair. On two occasions, during these past 3 years, one of my aids simply quit working. (sweat is a killer to hearing aids, and I walk a golf course 3 times a week at 5.3 miles per day) Costco replaced the unit, no questions asked, BOTH times! Whenever I'm in Costco, I stop by the H/A Specialist and he cleans them for FREE. GREAT guy named Keith Layton in Chino Hills Ca.!! Last week I lost one of them so I'm going to purchase new ones because the technology has advanced so much. GUESS WHERE??!! YUP, COSTCO!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Costco Hearing Aids Reviews.