Review of Costco Kirkland Signature Hearing Aids

by Jon Quinn
(Green Valley, AZ)

I had been struggling with moderate hearing loss for quite some time. Had an audiologist test me about 5 years ago and then again in December 2011. I was amazed at how much my hearing had deteriorated. Met with the audiologist and she seemed only interested in selling me a pair for $5,000. But, she made the mistake of mentioning batteries from Costco. I decided to go online and do some research and it seemed most of the comments were favorable.

So, off to Costco I went. Bottom line, I'm very pleased with the hearing aids (so is my wallet) and so is my wife.

I picked them up on January 3rd and took off for a 10 day cruise - took some getting used to, but they worked!

I've been back to Costco two more times for consultation and minor adjustments. They just continue to amaze me. Added features / benefits:

Rechargeable batteries that come with their own charger / dryer for overnight charging. Unlimited adjustments as I continue to wear them.

They even give you the cleaner / detergent at no charge - not just the first bottle, but as long as you own the devices.
Deep cleaning is recommended every 4-6 months - no appointment, just drop them off while shopping. And, no charge! My friends tell me they pay $150 for this.

They even have a loss/damage guarantee - something like 2 years for each hearing aid.
And, if you don't doubt them, they have a 90 day 100% money back guarantee.

I believe the audiologist told me they sell something like 3.4 million pairs per year.

I'm a very satisfied customer!

Comments for Review of Costco Kirkland Signature Hearing Aids

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jun 03, 2014
Transformational!
by: Joe D.

Hearing degradation is so gradual I was in a state of denial. Much as everyone else I postponed confronting reality until my 3 1/2 year old grand-daughter's voice made me realize either I took steps to remedy this hearing loss or miss her precious childhood moments forever.

And then there were the warnings of all the negatives I was about to experience! Adjustment periods, quirks with the technology, feedback and such...

None of those have proven true: The INSTANT I was fitted my life was transformed. It's as if I had been living in 'black-and-white' and someone had thrown a switch that made it all 'Technicolor'!

Vanity? I've become 'proud' of these instruments, as if they make a statement of self-assurance. Interactions with others have improved, I hear nuances, make eye contact and enjoy dialogue. And I enjoy every little squeal of joy from my little Madison!

Three programs work like charm for me, and, oh, that 'mute' button comes in handy every once in a while (LOL!)

Wish I had done this years ago! $1,900 seems like a bargain, guess it's all relative!

May 06, 2014
Unbelievable
by: Ken Boyles

I was the perfect candidate and exact description of the hearing aid buyer. I put it off for years because of cost and thought I could make myself learn to hear what I was missing.

After finally deciding to look into purchasing aids I started doing research and even tried a set from Sam's Club which were with extended warranty were around 3500 dollars. With a free return for ninety day guarantee in my pocket I continued to do research. I went to a local business that had been there for nearly 20 years and the gentleman that tested and owned the business seemed competent enough but wanted 5500 dollars and no warranty.

I finally decided to give Costco a try even though they were two hours away from my home. I like going to Columbus, Ohio so wouldn't be a loss if did not work out.

The Dr. in audiology that tested me, and they also had a trained tester there as well, gave me an evaluation like I have never received for any issue.. health, financial, auto..in my life.
I bought a set from him for 1900 dollars with a remote, plus the price of a Costco membership, with the guarantee of 3 years and loss for two!

The audiologist, who was a terrific guy, also insisted that I must come back in two weeks to have them put on a machine to check how I was wearing them and adjust if needed.. also stated that would like me to come back once more to discuss usage but could do it by phone due to the distance.

Perhaps there are better aids out there than the ones I am now wearing but I can assure that positively they could not be 3 times a good.
Am I happy with the aids..well no... I wish I didn't have to wear any. But they have made my life tremendously more enjoyable as well have made my wife and kids elated.

My thoughts are that if the aids last the warranted 3 years which I feel sure they will event if they need repaired, then there will be better quality more sophisticated ones available at close to the same price (these were 100 dollars less than their equivalent last year).

So far after a couple of months I can only say that ,for a change , I tried to save some money and don't feel that I had to settle for an inferior product.

Oct 15, 2013
Kirkland Hearing Aids
by: Anonymous

I just purchased my new Kirkland hearing aids about 6 weeks ago. I love the hearing aids, but I have had a lot of problems with the blue-tooth.

When I receive a call, they connect, I hear the person on the other end for about 5 or 6 words, then the receiving part quits working. The person on the other end can hear me, but I can't hear them. I have taken them in once to get it check & the tech re-pared them & they worked find at the Hearing Aide center, but won't work anywhere else.

Has anyone else had any problems with this?

Sep 18, 2013
It is terrible when you get lemons!
by: Stan B.

So sorry Ken with the bad luck with the Kirkland's. You probably got lemons and now you're fighting the battle to get them right. I'm surprised Costco doesn't just give you a new pair of hearing aids and be accept the fact the customer is always right.

I've sent mine in for a cleaning and it's supposed to take up to two weeks. They're all rusty inside as I'm not using the dryer enough like instructed.

I've been going to bed with my Blue Tooth on the bedroom TV and waking up in the morning with both hearing aids in so I end up wearing them 24/7 a lot of the time available if they don't get to the dryer...duh! So far though, I'm very satisfied with the Kirkland 4.0's but I understand 4.5's are now out and by a different manufacturer? My audiologist says they're better then ever.

Sep 18, 2013
Costco Signature hearing aids
by: Ken

I purchased Costco Signature hearing aids a year ago with the Rexton wireless enhancement system.

They have both had the speakers replaced five times and one of the aids has been in for repair for a month. I am disappointed with both the quality and the dependability of the units.

The staff at Costco have been very accommodating during this time, but the speaker units are of poor quality. I will not repeat the same mistake when I purchase my next set of hearing aids.

Oct 06, 2012
Have to Make a Hearing Aid Decision
by: stan b

Thanks for all of your comments as I'm about to make a hearing aid decision. I tried Sam's Club Liberty hearing aids SIE 64' (speaker in ear): http://libertyhearingaids.com/lh_products_3.html
and they were terrific!

I presently have 5 or 6 year old Miracle Ear aids and one recently quit and the fix estimate is $400. No way would I put that much money into the older aids.

The one that's still working is very rusted and doubt if it will last another year. Anyway, the SIE 64's are wonderful but dollar for dollar, if the Sig. 4.0's come anywhere close to the 64's, I'd have to go with Costco.

The 64's are $3,000 w/ 1 yr. warranty, $3,600 with a 4 yr. warranty. No Bluetooth ability, no remote, no battery charger/dryer, etc. "but" their pure hearing ability for my particular hearing loss, is unbelievable.

I'm hoping the Kirkland 4.0's come close as I have a hearing test coming up shortly. Costco said it would take at least a couple of weeks to get the new aids in plus I might need ear molds like I have now. Are the molds an additional cost?

The 4.0's seem to be one heck of a bang for the buck and if they do a reasonable job with helping me simply "hear" then I'll have to forego the Cadillac and go with the Chevy!

Stan

Jun 24, 2012
Kirkland hearing aid review
by: Tom

As a long time Costco believer, I bought a pair of Kirkland hearing aids in March of this year. They announced the new model right after I purchased and they upgraded at no additional charge.

Did have some problem with a bad rechargeable battery that made one of the units quit, but they repaired that unit at no charge. A short time later same unit quit and other one lost a control cover.

They replaced both hearing aids with new ones and so far they are fully functional. While I had some start up problems, Costco's Customer Service was fantastic and the hearing aids are a solid value.

Apr 11, 2012
Costco Hearing Aids
by: Bob C.

I too bought a pair from Costco in Feb. 2009. The behind the ear type with the nearly invisible wire to the ear canal. I have graying hair and most people can't tell I have them in because they match my hair. On two occasions, during these past 3 years, one of my aids simply quit working. (sweat is a killer to hearing aids, and I walk a golf course 3 times a week at 5.3 miles per day) Costco replaced the unit, no questions asked, BOTH times! Whenever I'm in Costco, I stop by the H/A Specialist and he cleans them for FREE. GREAT guy named Keith Layton in Chino Hills Ca.!! Last week I lost one of them so I'm going to purchase new ones because the technology has advanced so much. GUESS WHERE??!! YUP, COSTCO!

Apr 11, 2012
Costco Hearing Aids
by: Bob C.

I too bought a pair from Costco in Feb. 2009. The behind the ear type with the nearly invisible wire to the ear canal. I have graying hair and most people can't tell I have them in because they match my hair. On two occasions, during these past 3 years, one of my aids simply quit working. (sweat is a killer to hearing aids, and I walk a golf course 3 times a week at 5.3 miles per day) Costco replaced the unit, no questions asked, BOTH times! Whenever I'm in Costco, I stop by the H/A Specialist and he cleans them for FREE. GREAT guy named Keith Layton in Chino Hills Ca.!! Last week I lost one of them so I'm going to purchase new ones because the technology has advanced so much. GUESS WHERE??!! YUP, COSTCO!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Costco Hearing Aids Reviews.