Review of Costco Kirkland Signature Hearing Aids

by Jon Quinn
(Green Valley, AZ)

I had been struggling with moderate hearing loss for quite some time. Had an audiologist test me about 5 years ago and then again in December 2011. I was amazed at how much my hearing had deteriorated. Met with the audiologist and she seemed only interested in selling me a pair for $5,000. But, she made the mistake of mentioning batteries from Costco. I decided to go online and do some research and it seemed most of the comments were favorable.

So, off to Costco I went. Bottom line, I'm very pleased with the hearing aids (so is my wallet) and so is my wife.

I picked them up on January 3rd and took off for a 10 day cruise - took some getting used to, but they worked!

I've been back to Costco two more times for consultation and minor adjustments. They just continue to amaze me. Added features / benefits:

Rechargeable batteries that come with their own charger / dryer for overnight charging. Unlimited adjustments as I continue to wear them.

They even give you the cleaner / detergent at no charge - not just the first bottle, but as long as you own the devices.
Deep cleaning is recommended every 4-6 months - no appointment, just drop them off while shopping. And, no charge! My friends tell me they pay $150 for this.

They even have a loss/damage guarantee - something like 2 years for each hearing aid.
And, if you don't doubt them, they have a 90 day 100% money back guarantee.

I believe the audiologist told me they sell something like 3.4 million pairs per year.

I'm a very satisfied customer!

Comments for Review of Costco Kirkland Signature Hearing Aids

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Dec 13, 2014
Very Satisfied with Costco Kirland Signature Hearing Aids by Rexton
by: Dennis Kissinger

My local Costco has a Master's Degreed audiologist
on staff. Bought my Kirkland Signature pair of hearing aids (made by Rexton) almost four years ago for less than a single hearing aid from an audiologist some years before.

I have had great service, regular in-depth cleaning, hearing tests and reprogramming as needed all for no charge at Costco. Three year warranty. Had a problem at 3.5 years and they were repaired by factory at very reasonable charge, which was then reimbursed under my (free) Costco American Express extended warranty plan.

I won't be going anywhere else when it is time to replace/upgrade my hearing aids. Best service and value around.

Dec 11, 2014
Costco Hearing Aids...So far very bad not one good feature
by: Ava

So far hate them my Costco Hearing Aids. Voices sound terrible. You depend on the remote. When you misplace it the whole Thing does not work. For 2 month now always some other problems. Batteries are out way too soon. I will go back in a few days, am really unhappy.

Dec 03, 2014
Completely satisfied
by: Seventy-one guy

I resisted at first only wearing them to please my wife, but now I can't live without them. I guess I didn't realize how much I was missing.

I dropped then stepped on one which broke. Costco replaced it for no charge with no hassle. Any Costco Hearing Center I've gone to (four different stores depending on my location) has given me first class, no pressure service.

I've recommended the Kirlands to a number of friends and had no bad feedback.

Nov 26, 2014
ENT sent me to Costco for Hearing Aids
by: Anonymous

When I told my ENT that I had limited funds and couldn't afford his prices he kindly told me to check out Costco.

I was so pleased with the staff and they sold me a Costco Kirkland Signature 5.0 hearing aids. No pressure. 1/3 the price of the audiologist at the ENT. I am thankful that their are still caring doctors in this country!

Nov 20, 2014
Anonymous Costco Hearing Aid Reviews
by: Ron Allander

I just wanted to point out that "JTAnonymous" is complaining about negative Costco hearing aid reviews from people wanting to remain anonymous.

Nov 20, 2014
Go With Costco
by: JTAnonymous

If you notice, the negative comments are most often from anonymous people, probably disgruntled audiologists!

My audiologist talked trash on this product telling me that Costco sells old technology and I needed a 2014. So, I went with him. Come to find out, he sold me a 2010 pair of used hearing aids as new. What a crook. I trust Costco employees more than any audiologist.

They are paid a salary. They were upfront and honest with me, and they didn't bad mouth anybody else or question my decisions. In fact, I returned the initial pair I purchased from Costco because my crooked audiologist promised me a price match with two levels up.

I got a mid-level, four year old set of used hearing aids. I checked with the company and they had never even been refurbished. He said that they sold for $2,400.00 a piece. Lots of fraud and deception still today in the hearing aid business.

Nov 06, 2014
Best Guarantee EVER
by: Anonymous

This comment is in response to C.O. from October 7th. Today I received my Kirkland Signature hearing aids and I am completely thrilled and reassured.

Costco has an unbelievable 90 day trial period and three year warranty. If you do not like the hearing aids, you can take them back with no questions asked!

I had no idea how much my hearing had degraded, but the new hearing aids has given me a gift of hearing and I am having a great time with it.

I hope everyone would consider Costco as their hearing aid provider. They are a fantastic company that is customer focused.

Oct 07, 2014
Be careful with Costco hearing aids
by: C. O.

I have worn hearing aids for over 40 years and just purchased Kirkland Signature 5 hearing aids from Costco. Other than the price, I have not been very happy with them.

The last few hearing aids I have worn have been in the ear aids, the Costco aids are behind the ear. The generic molds make my ears sore so I will probably have to pay more for custom molds.

They are battery hogs. Batteries in my old hearing aids would last about two weeks. These hearing aid batteries have to be changed about twice a week. I have never known a hearing aid to drain batteries so rapidly. I hope to be able to adjust. I regret putting my money on them and wish I had taken my time.

I have seriously thought of repairing some of my old hearing aids and using the Costco aids for backup. I am not saying Costco cannot sell a decent hearing aid but I would be cautious.

Sep 21, 2014
Form your own opinions thru comparisons!
by: Anonymous

Anonymous, I had professionals do a total hearing test on me at Miracle Ear, Audibel, Sam's Club, and at a Otolaryngologist's office. I tried all of the above hearing aids and the only aids I thought were better then Costco's were at Sam's Club and I think that was because the audiologist was tremendous. I couldn't afford Sam's though because at the time they were $1,500 higher then Costco's with a 3 yr. warranty.

It's very easy to knock the reviews and opinions on this site but I suggest you make the rounds at all of the hearing aid centers in your area and form your own opinions. I think you'll find that most aids are comparable to Costco's, maybe even a bit better, but when you factor in their prices, it becomes a no-brainer leaning heavily towards Costco. JMHO

Sep 21, 2014
Costco Hearing Aid Reviews
by: Anonymous

I believe this must be a Costco website because real people don't talk like half the posts here. One states "I was in denial". Who talks like a commercial?
I think if you buy hearing aids at Costco you should have heart surgery at Wal-Mart.

Do you really want to have your hearing tested next to the bananas?
Saving money is one thing but really,think about it what hearing health professional would work at Costco?

A Collings

Jun 03, 2014
Transformational!
by: Joe D.

Hearing degradation is so gradual I was in a state of denial. Much as everyone else I postponed confronting reality until my 3 1/2 year old grand-daughter's voice made me realize either I took steps to remedy this hearing loss or miss her precious childhood moments forever.

And then there were the warnings of all the negatives I was about to experience! Adjustment periods, quirks with the technology, feedback and such...

None of those have proven true: The INSTANT I was fitted my life was transformed. It's as if I had been living in 'black-and-white' and someone had thrown a switch that made it all 'Technicolor'!

Vanity? I've become 'proud' of these instruments, as if they make a statement of self-assurance. Interactions with others have improved, I hear nuances, make eye contact and enjoy dialogue. And I enjoy every little squeal of joy from my little Madison!

Three programs work like charm for me, and, oh, that 'mute' button comes in handy every once in a while (LOL!)

Wish I had done this years ago! $1,900 seems like a bargain, guess it's all relative!

May 06, 2014
Unbelievable
by: Ken Boyles

I was the perfect candidate and exact description of the hearing aid buyer. I put it off for years because of cost and thought I could make myself learn to hear what I was missing.

After finally deciding to look into purchasing aids I started doing research and even tried a set from Sam's Club which were with extended warranty were around 3500 dollars. With a free return for ninety day guarantee in my pocket I continued to do research. I went to a local business that had been there for nearly 20 years and the gentleman that tested and owned the business seemed competent enough but wanted 5500 dollars and no warranty.

I finally decided to give Costco a try even though they were two hours away from my home. I like going to Columbus, Ohio so wouldn't be a loss if did not work out.

The Dr. in audiology that tested me, and they also had a trained tester there as well, gave me an evaluation like I have never received for any issue.. health, financial, auto..in my life.
I bought a set from him for 1900 dollars with a remote, plus the price of a Costco membership, with the guarantee of 3 years and loss for two!

The audiologist, who was a terrific guy, also insisted that I must come back in two weeks to have them put on a machine to check how I was wearing them and adjust if needed.. also stated that would like me to come back once more to discuss usage but could do it by phone due to the distance.

Perhaps there are better aids out there than the ones I am now wearing but I can assure that positively they could not be 3 times a good.
Am I happy with the aids..well no... I wish I didn't have to wear any. But they have made my life tremendously more enjoyable as well have made my wife and kids elated.

My thoughts are that if the aids last the warranted 3 years which I feel sure they will event if they need repaired, then there will be better quality more sophisticated ones available at close to the same price (these were 100 dollars less than their equivalent last year).

So far after a couple of months I can only say that ,for a change , I tried to save some money and don't feel that I had to settle for an inferior product.

Oct 15, 2013
Kirkland Hearing Aids
by: Anonymous

I just purchased my new Kirkland hearing aids about 6 weeks ago. I love the hearing aids, but I have had a lot of problems with the blue-tooth.

When I receive a call, they connect, I hear the person on the other end for about 5 or 6 words, then the receiving part quits working. The person on the other end can hear me, but I can't hear them. I have taken them in once to get it check & the tech re-pared them & they worked find at the Hearing Aide center, but won't work anywhere else.

Has anyone else had any problems with this?

Sep 18, 2013
It is terrible when you get lemons!
by: Stan B.

So sorry Ken with the bad luck with the Kirkland's. You probably got lemons and now you're fighting the battle to get them right. I'm surprised Costco doesn't just give you a new pair of hearing aids and be accept the fact the customer is always right.

I've sent mine in for a cleaning and it's supposed to take up to two weeks. They're all rusty inside as I'm not using the dryer enough like instructed.

I've been going to bed with my Blue Tooth on the bedroom TV and waking up in the morning with both hearing aids in so I end up wearing them 24/7 a lot of the time available if they don't get to the dryer...duh! So far though, I'm very satisfied with the Kirkland 4.0's but I understand 4.5's are now out and by a different manufacturer? My audiologist says they're better then ever.

Sep 18, 2013
Costco Signature hearing aids
by: Ken

I purchased Costco Signature hearing aids a year ago with the Rexton wireless enhancement system.

They have both had the speakers replaced five times and one of the aids has been in for repair for a month. I am disappointed with both the quality and the dependability of the units.

The staff at Costco have been very accommodating during this time, but the speaker units are of poor quality. I will not repeat the same mistake when I purchase my next set of hearing aids.

Oct 06, 2012
Have to Make a Hearing Aid Decision
by: stan b

Thanks for all of your comments as I'm about to make a hearing aid decision. I tried Sam's Club Liberty hearing aids SIE 64' (speaker in ear): http://libertyhearingaids.com/lh_products_3.html
and they were terrific!

I presently have 5 or 6 year old Miracle Ear aids and one recently quit and the fix estimate is $400. No way would I put that much money into the older aids.

The one that's still working is very rusted and doubt if it will last another year. Anyway, the SIE 64's are wonderful but dollar for dollar, if the Sig. 4.0's come anywhere close to the 64's, I'd have to go with Costco.

The 64's are $3,000 w/ 1 yr. warranty, $3,600 with a 4 yr. warranty. No Bluetooth ability, no remote, no battery charger/dryer, etc. "but" their pure hearing ability for my particular hearing loss, is unbelievable.

I'm hoping the Kirkland 4.0's come close as I have a hearing test coming up shortly. Costco said it would take at least a couple of weeks to get the new aids in plus I might need ear molds like I have now. Are the molds an additional cost?

The 4.0's seem to be one heck of a bang for the buck and if they do a reasonable job with helping me simply "hear" then I'll have to forego the Cadillac and go with the Chevy!

Stan

Jun 24, 2012
Kirkland hearing aid review
by: Tom

As a long time Costco believer, I bought a pair of Kirkland hearing aids in March of this year. They announced the new model right after I purchased and they upgraded at no additional charge.

Did have some problem with a bad rechargeable battery that made one of the units quit, but they repaired that unit at no charge. A short time later same unit quit and other one lost a control cover.

They replaced both hearing aids with new ones and so far they are fully functional. While I had some start up problems, Costco's Customer Service was fantastic and the hearing aids are a solid value.

Apr 11, 2012
Costco Hearing Aids
by: Bob C.

I too bought a pair from Costco in Feb. 2009. The behind the ear type with the nearly invisible wire to the ear canal. I have graying hair and most people can't tell I have them in because they match my hair. On two occasions, during these past 3 years, one of my aids simply quit working. (sweat is a killer to hearing aids, and I walk a golf course 3 times a week at 5.3 miles per day) Costco replaced the unit, no questions asked, BOTH times! Whenever I'm in Costco, I stop by the H/A Specialist and he cleans them for FREE. GREAT guy named Keith Layton in Chino Hills Ca.!! Last week I lost one of them so I'm going to purchase new ones because the technology has advanced so much. GUESS WHERE??!! YUP, COSTCO!

Apr 11, 2012
Costco Hearing Aids
by: Bob C.

I too bought a pair from Costco in Feb. 2009. The behind the ear type with the nearly invisible wire to the ear canal. I have graying hair and most people can't tell I have them in because they match my hair. On two occasions, during these past 3 years, one of my aids simply quit working. (sweat is a killer to hearing aids, and I walk a golf course 3 times a week at 5.3 miles per day) Costco replaced the unit, no questions asked, BOTH times! Whenever I'm in Costco, I stop by the H/A Specialist and he cleans them for FREE. GREAT guy named Keith Layton in Chino Hills Ca.!! Last week I lost one of them so I'm going to purchase new ones because the technology has advanced so much. GUESS WHERE??!! YUP, COSTCO!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Costco Hearing Aids Reviews.